In Mizoram, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) candidate Lalduhoma won the by-poll to the Serchhip assembly seat by a margin of 2,955 votes.

With a total of 8,269 votes, Lalduhoma defeated former Lok Sabha member and Mizo National Front (MNF) Vice President Vanlalzawma to become MLA from the Serchhip seat.

Meanwhile, Congress general secretary PC Laltlansanga got 2,604 votes.

Six candidates, including one Independent contested for the Serchhip seat. Polling for the assembly constituency was held on April 17.

The by-polls to Serchhip was necessitated by the disqualification of incumbent MLA Laduhoma under anti-defection law in November last year.