Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

First Published: 19th April, 2024 9:53 IST

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura

Copy edited by Lipika Roy

Voting for the first phase of the 18th Lok Sabha election 2024 has begun in 15 Parliamentary constituencies out of the total 25 Parliamentary constituencies in the Northeastern region of India today.

Along with the 102 Lok Sabha seats across 21 states and Union territories, voting has begun in the Northeast at 7:00 am.

In the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections, voting is underway in 5 constituencies in Assam (Kaziranga, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Sonitpur and Lakhimpur); two in Manipur (Inner Manipur and parts of Outer Manipur); two in Arunachal Pradesh (Arunachal East and Arunachal West); two in Meghalaya (Tura and Shillong) and one each in Tripura (Tripura West), Nagaland, Sikkim and Mizoram.

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

Here is the full list of constituency-wise candidates in the Northeastern states:

Lone Nagaland Lok Sabha seat

1.         S Supongmeren Jamir of Congress

2.         Dr Chumben Murry of NDPP

3.         Hayithung Tungoe Lotha (Independent)

Lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat

1.         Vanlalhmuaka of BJP

2.         Lalbiakzama of Congress

3.         K Vanlalvena of Mizo National Front (MNF)

4.         Lalhriatrenga Chhangte (Independent)

5.         Rita Malsawmi of Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC)

6.         Richard Vanlalhmangaiha of Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)

Lone Sikkim Lok Sabha seat

1.         Indra Hang Subba of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM)

2.         Prem Das Rai of Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF)

3.         Dinesh Chandra Nepal BJP

4.         Bharat Basnett of Citizen Action Party (CAP)

5.         Rudra Mani Pradhan (Independent)

6.         Madhukar Dhakal (Independent)

7.         Sambhu Chettri (Independent)

8.         Gopal Chettri of Congress

9.         Ravi Chandra Rai (Independent)

10.       Nawin Kiran Pradhan (Independent)

11.       Shyamal Pal (Independent)

12.       Laten Tshering Sherpa (Independent)

13.       Kharga Bhadur Rai of Sikkim Republican Party (SRP)

14.       Beena Rai (Independent)

Tripura West Lok Sabha seat

1.         Former Chief Minister and Rajya Sabha MP Biplab Kumar Deb

2.         Asish Kumar Saha of Congress

3.         Brajalal Debnath of Bahujan Mukti Party (BMP)

4.         Arun Kumar Bhaumik of Socialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)


Shillong Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Meghalaya Congress President Vincent H. Pala

2.         Cabinet Minister and NPP leader Ampareen Lyngdoh

3.         Ricky Andrew J. Syngkon of Voice of the People Party (VPP)

4.         Robertjune Kharjahrin of Regional Democratic Alliance (RDA)

5.         Lakhon Kma (Independent)

6.         Peter Shallam (Independent)

Tura Lok Sabha seat:

1.         NPP leader and sister of Chief Minister Conrad Sangma Agatha Sangma

2.         Zenith M Sangma of TMC

3.         Labenn Ch Marak (Independent)

4.         Saleng A Sangma of Congress


Arunachal East Lok Sabha seat:

1.         BJP’s sitting MP Tapir Gao

2.         Bosiram Siram of Congress

3.         Bandey Mili of Arunachal Democratic Party

4.         Sotai Kri (Independent)

5.         Tamat Gamoh (Independent)

6.         Omak Nitik (Independent)

Arunachal East Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Union Minister and BJP’s sitting MP Kiren Rijiju

2.         Former Chief Minister and Arunachal Congress president Nabam Tuki

3.         Toko Sheetal of Gana Suraksha Party (GSP)

4.         Ruhi Tagung (Independent)

5.         Tania June (Independent)

6.         Bimpak Siga (Independent)

7.         Techi Rana (Independent)

8.         Leki Norbu (Independent)


Jorhat Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Sitting Lok Sabha MP and Congress leader Gaurav Gogoi

2.         Sitting Jorhat MP Topon Kumar Gogoi of BJP

3.         Raj Kumar Duwara (Independent)

4.         Arun Chandra Handique of Ekam Sanatan Bharat Dal

Kaziranga Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Sitting Rajya Sabha MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa of BJP

2.         Roselina Tirkey of Congress

3.         Salim Ahmed of Asom Jana Morcha

4.         Saleh Ahmed Mazumdar of the Republican Party of India (Athawale)

5.         Anim Dekha Gupta of Voters Party International

6.         Tridiv Jyoti Bhuyan (Independent)

7.         Jyotishka Ranjan Goswami (Independent)

8.         Abdul Hoque (Independent)

9.         Diluwara Begum Chowdhury (Independent)

10.       Binod Gogoi (Independent)

11.       Sailen Ch Malakar of Bharatiya Gana Parishad

Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Union Minister and former Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal

2.         Lurinjyoti Gogoi of Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP)

3.         Manoj Dhanowar of AAP

Sonitpur Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Ranjit Dutta of BJP

2.         Alam Ali of Bahujan Maha Party

3.         Raju Deuri of Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF)

4.         Rinku Roy of Gana Suraksha Party (GSP)

5.         Rishiraj Kaundiniya of AAP

6.         Kamaleswar Swargiary of Voters Party International

7.         Pradip Bhandari (Independent)

8.         Premlaj Ganju of Congress

Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat:

1.         Pradhan Baruah of BJP

2.         Ghana Kanta Chutiya of Congress

3.         Bikram Ramchiary (Independent)

4.         Deba Nath Pait (Independent)

5.         Gobin Biswakarma (Independent)

6.         Uday Shankar Hazarika (Independent)

7.         Biren Bailung of Voters Party International

8.         Dhiren Kachari of Communist Party of India

9.         Pallab Pegu of Socialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)


Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat

1.         Thounaojam Basanta Kr Singh of BJP

2.         R K Somendro of  (Independent)

3.         Agomcha Bimol Akoijam of Congress

4.         Maheshwar Thounaojam of Revolutionary Party of India (Athawale)

5.         Hourungbam Sarat Singh (Independent)

6.         Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba (Independent)

Outer Manipur Lok sabha seat

1.         K Timothy Zimik of Naga People’s Front (NPF)

2.         Alfred K Arthur of Congress

3.         Alyson Abonmei

4.         S Kho John

Also Read: Lok Sabha elections 2024 Phase 1: Big faces and high-stakes battles



Illegal appointments in PHE & WS department: ACS seek termination of corrupt officials

In fact the ACS has sent a representation to Arunachal Pradesh Chief Secretary placing before the top official, a 3-point charter of demands.

18th May 2024
Arunachal: Vehicle movement restricted on Pinjoli bridge in West Kamreng

According to the Border Roads Task Force (BRTF), a bailey panel of the bridge has been displaced.

18th May 2024
Itanagar: 117 dog bite cases reported in 8 days

The Itanagar Municipal Corporation (IMC) has issued a statement urging people not to kill dogs and condemn such actions in the strongest terms.

17th May 2024
Arunachal civil society demands strict punishment for accused involved in inter-state sex racket, says “No one should walk out free”  

Arunachal civil society said that anyone involved in this, whether they come from an influential family or not, must face severe consequences.

16th May 2024
Arunachal Polls 2024: CEO P.K. Sain highlights preparations for counting day

The counting of votes for Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections will commence on June 2 at 6 AM, while for the parliamentary elections, it will begin on June 4 at 8 AM, this was informed by Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain.

16th May 2024