Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lok Sabha polls phase 2: Voting in 7 Northeast seats begins, 74 candidates in fray

First Published: 26th April, 2024 7:53 IST

Voting for the 15 Parliamentary constituencies was held in the first phase on April 19.

Voting for the second phase of the 18th Lok Sabha election 2024 has begun.

Along with the 88 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and one Union Territory, voting has begun in the Northeast today at 7:00 am.

Voting is underway in 7 of the 10 remaining Parliamentary constituencies of the total 25 Parliamentary constituencies in the Northeastern region of India.

Voting for the 15 Parliamentary constituencies was held in the first phase on April 19.

Voting is taking place in 5 constituencies in Assam (Darrang-Udalguri, Nagaon, Silchar, Karimganj and Diphu); 13 assembly segments of Outer Manipur and East Tripura Parliamentary seat.

As many as 61 candidates including 2 female candidates are in the fray in Assam, 4 candidates are battling it out in the EVMs in Manipur and 9 in the race for the Tripura East seat.

In Manipur, voting is underway at 628 polling stations. A total of 1,010,618 eligible voters will exercise their franchise.

The 13 Assembly constituencies where polling is underway are– Jiribam, Tengnoupal (ST), Phungyar (ST), Ukhrul (ST), Chingai (ST), Karong (ST), Mao (ST), Tadubi (ST), Tamei (ST), Tamenglong (ST), Nungba (ST), Tipaimukh (ST), and Thanlon (ST).

The candidates who are in the fray are – Naga People’s Front’s (NPF) K Timothy Zimik, a retired Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer, Congress’s Ukhrul Alfred K Arthur, former Ukhrul MLA, and two independent candidates – Alyson Abonmei and S Kho John.
BJP did not field a candidate and decided to support Zimik.

In Tripura, voting is underway at 1,664 polling stations. A total of 13,95,089 eligible voters of which 6,93,365 are female voters and there are 16 transgender voters will decide the fate of the 9 candidates in fray.

The Tripura East seat comprises 30 Assembly segments including Ramchandraghat, Khowai, Asharambari, Kalyanpur-Pramodenagar, Teliamura, Krishnapur, Hrishyamukh, Jolaibari, Manu, Sabroom, Ampinagar, Amarpur, Karbook, Raimavalley, Kamalpur, Surma, Ambassa, Karmachara, Chawamanu, Pabiachhara, Fatikroy, Chandipur, Kailashahar, Kadamtala-kurti, Bagbassa, Dharmanagar, Jubarajnagar, Panisagar, Pencharthal, Kanchanpur.

The key candidates who are contesting for the seat are Tipra Motha’s Kriti Singh Deb Barma who is contesting as the BJP candidate and, INDIA bloc candidate Rajendra Reang.

Kriti Singh Deb Barma is the elder sister of TIPRA Motha founder and royal scion Pradyot Kishore Deb Barma and her key opponent Reang is a veteran CPM leader and 3-time (2003, 2008, 2013) Kanchanpur MLA.

In Assam, voting for 5 of the 14 Parliamentary constituencies is underway at 9133 polling stations.

In phase 1, voting was held for 5 constituencies. The remaining 4 constituencies will go to polls in phase 3 on May 7.

A total of 77,09,276 eligible voters, out of which 38,78,667 are male voters, 38,30,439 are female voters and 170 third-gender voters will decide the fate of 61 candidates in the fray.

The key candidates who are contesting for the 5 seats in Assam are-

Nagaon Lok Sabha Seat:
Suresh Borah (BJP)
Pradyut Bordoloi (Congress)
Aminul Islam (AIUDF)

Diphu Lok Sabha Seat:
Amarsing Tisso (BJP)
Joyram Engleng (Congress)
Jotson Bey (ASDC)

Darrang-Udalguri Lok Sabha Seat:
Dilip Saikia (BJP)
Madhab Rajbanshi (Congress)
Durga Das Boro (BPF)

Silchar Lok Sabha seat:
Assam Minister and BJP leader Parimal Suklabaidya
Radheshyam Biswas (TMC)
Surya Kanta Sarkar (Congress)

Karimganj Lok Sabha seat:
Kripanath Mallah (BJP)
Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudhury (Congress)
Sahbul Islam Choudhury (AIUDF)

Results will be declared on June 4.

Also Read: Voting begins in 88 seats in second phase of Lok Sabha elections



Tragic: 5 of a family who went to perform last rites of another family member, drown on their way back

The deceased have been identified as Sujan Malakar (34), Jit Karmakar (17) and Prasenjit Saha (age yet to be ascertained), and Gouranga Malakar (47), and Uday Sarkar (50).

12th July 2024
Missing Guwahati Man’s Body Found Inside Gunny Bag, Eyes Gouged Out, Jaws Smashed

In a horrific incident, the body of the missing Guwahati man, Raghavendra Kumar Gupta, was found inside a gunny bag on Thursday night. What is more gruesome is that the man’s eyes have been gouged out, jaws smashed, ears and beard pulled out leaving face mutilated beyond recognition. The body was recovered from behind the […]

12th July 2024
Centre sanctions Rs. 378.68 cr to Assam for 78 roads and 14 bridges

Besides creating employment and boosting local economies, the project will promote trade and commerce in the state.

12th July 2024
Assam: Mahatma Gandhi’s Statue Removed, Grandson Tushar Reacts, CM Says “Will Verify Facts”

Mahatma Gandhi's Statue Removed, Grandson Tushar Reacts, CM Says "Will Verify Facts"

12th July 2024
Assam: Boat With 20 People Capsizes In Goalpara, 5 Dead

The incident took place in the Simlitola Narayanpara area of the Goalpara district when a country boat carrying 20 villagers capsized

12th July 2024