Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Stage is all set for Mizoram LS Polls tomorrow; over 8 lakh voters to decide the fate of 6 candidates in fray

First Published: 18th April, 2024 18:46 IST

As per the latest Electoral roll, out of the total 8,56,364 voters 4,14,805 are male voters and 4,41,559 are female voters.

The stage is all set for voting for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram scheduled to take place in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 19. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.
There are 6 candidates in the fray including 3 first timers.

In the battle for the Mizoram Lok Sabha seat are MNF’s K Vanlalvena, the sitting Rajya Sabha MP, ZPM’s Richard Van-lal-man-gaiha, an entrepreneur and first-time politician, Congress’s Lalbiakzama, a former Mizoram cop-turned politician, another first timer in the race, Mizoram BJP president Vanlal-muaka, People’s Conference candidate Rita Lalsawmi, a singer and lyricst and the third first timer in the fray, and former congress leader Lal-riat-renga Chhangte, who is contesting as an Independent.

MNF dropped sitting Lok Sabha MP C Lalrosanga and named K Vanlalvena as its candidate.

As many as 8,56,364 voters would decide the fate of six candidates in fray for the lone seat.
As per the Election Commission data, of the total 8,56,364 voters 4,14,805 are male voters and 4,41,559 are female voters. There are 4,963 service voters including 4872 male voters and 91 female voters, there are 4741 voters in the 85 years and above category. Moreover, there are 3,396 PwD voters including 1876 male voters and 1521 female voters. In the 18-19 years age category, there are 18,659 male voters and 17,711 female voters totalling it to 36,370 voters.

As many as 1276 polling stations have been set up out of which there are 168 P-2 Polling Stations (Polling Stations that are in far flung or remote areas). Out of the 1276 Polling Stations, there are 751 Rural Polling Stations and 525 Urban Polling Stations. On average, there are 671 voters per Polling station. The Polling Booths in 765 Polling Stations will be monitored through webcasting.

There are 14 vulnerable polling stations -7 in Kolasib District, 3 in Aizawl District, 4 in Champhai District.
Along with these there are 5 critical polling stations- all from Saitual District.
11 polling stations are accessible only on foot. Of these 6 are in Mamit district, 4 in Lunglei district and 1 in Lawngtlai district.

Of the 15 polling stations which are only accessible through waterways, 13 are in Lunglei district and 2 in Mamit district.

There are 136 All Women Managed Polling Stations (Pink polling station), 7 All Youth Managed Polling Stations and 1 PwD Managed Polling Station

Aizawl district has the highest number of voters at 2,88,304 with 1,34,838 male voters and 1,53,466 female voters whereas Hnahthial district has the lowest number of voters at 16,223 voters with 8008 male voters and 8215 female voters.

The polling station with the highest number of voters is in Zemabawk- VIII (Aizawl District) and that with the lowest number is in Thehlep (Lunglei District).

Strong rooms have been designated and prepared in every district for the storage of EVMs after the polling. There are 40 Strong rooms, one for each Assembly constituency. Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) and Mizoram State Armed Police personnel will be deployed to safeguard the Strong rooms and buildings day and night till Counting day.

For the maintenance of law and order, 3,553 State Police personnel as well as Central Armed Police Forces Company (CAPF) have been deployed. There will be 83 Flying Squad Teams (FST) and 81 Static Surveillance Teams (SST). There are 52 checkpPosts out of which 12 are located at the Inter-State Boundary and the rest are located in different parts of the State.

Since MCC came into force, drugs and alcohol worth Rs. 47,984,035 have been seized till April 15, 2024. 8 guns, ammunitions, 110 gelatin bombs and 110 detonator bombs have also been seized.
5 CAPF companies will be utilized for Strong Room guarding/counting centers and they will remain deployed in the state till completion of the counting process. The remaining 7 companies with 2 CRPF, 2 BSF, 3 ITBP will leave Mizoram after poll dayas they will be deployed in other States.

The polling will start at 7:00 AM and conclude at 5:00 PM on April 19, Friday. The government has declared poll day as a Public Holiday as well as Paid Holiday for non-government employees.
Dry Day has been declared hence selling, distribution and consumption of alcohol are strictly prohibited for 48 hours from April 17, 5:00 p.m till April 19 5:00 p.m, when poll concludes.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, MNF’s C. Lalrosanga polled 2,24,286 votes. Independent candidate Lalnghinglova Hmar polled 2,16,146 votes and BJP’s Nirupam Chakma polled 28,707 votes.



8 pairs of twins in a Mizoram school leave teachers, classmates confused

There are 4 pairs of girls, 3 pairs of boys, and one fraternal pair.

14th May 2024
Fuel shortage to ease further in Mizoram and Tripura, 2nd oil freight train crosses Assam’s Dima Hasao

The fuel shortage prevailing in both the states owing to disruption in rail services due to the landslide in Assam's Dima Hasao is likely to ease further in a day or two.

12th May 2024
Fuel shortage in Mizoram: Govt’s strong warning to hoarders and black marketers

Fuel supply to Mizoram has been affected due to damage of rail tracks in the Lumding-Badarpur sector in Assam.

11th May 2024
6 from Northeast conferred Padma Shri award for 2024

Nagaland's Sano Vamuzo and Meghalaya's Dr. Sangthankima were conferred the Padma Shri for their distinguished service in the field of social work.

10th May 2024
Methamphetamine worth over Rs 6 cr seized in Mizoram, one arrested

The arrested person has been identified as Rohmingthanga (20), a resident of Zokhawthar village

07th May 2024