Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Repolling underway in 6 polling stations in Ukhrul, Chingai, Karong of Outer Manipur seat

First Published: 30th April, 2024 12:59 IST

The polling stations include 20 Shangshak, 36, 41 and 50 Ukhrul, 14 Chingai and 33 Oinam.

Repolling is underway at 6 polling stations in the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency – 4 polling stations of the Ukhrul assembly segment and one each of Chingai and Karong assembly segments today.

The polling stations include 20 Shangshak, 36, 41 and 50 Ukhrul, 14 Chingai and 33 Oinam.

Repoling at these polling stations were ordered after reports of EVM vandalism, threat and intimidation by unknown miscreants were reported during the second phase of Lok Sabha polls on 26th April.
The Election Commission of India ordered repolling in the six booths of the Outer Manipur constituency that had voted in the second phase of the Lok Sabha election on Friday, April 26.

“The Election Commission of India has, under Sections 58(2) and 58A(2) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, directed that the poll taken on April 26, 2024 (Friday) in respect of 6 polling stations listed in the table below of 2- Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency to be void and appointed April 30, 2024 (Tuesday) as the date for taking fresh poll at the said polling stations with hours of poll from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM,” an official statement said.

The candidates in fray are – Naga People’s Front’s (NPF) K Timothy Zimik, a retired Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer, Congress’s Ukhrul Alfred K Arthur, former Ukhrul MLA, and two independent candidates – Alyson Abonmei and S Kho John.

BJP did not field a candidate and decided to support Zimik.

The Outer Manipur Constituency saw a voter turnout of around 76% after both phases (before repoll). The turnout was around 80% in the Inner Manipur constituency.

Voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha concluded in Manipur as 13 of the Assembly segments in the State’s Outer Manipur constituency cast their votes in the second phase of polling on Friday.

Earlier, re-polling was held in 11 polling stations of the Inner Manipur constituency on April 22, after multiple incidents of violence were reported during the first phase of polling on April 19. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.



Manipur: All illegal structures on Govt land to be evicted by next week

District Administrations of Imphal East and Imphal West have directed the removal of all illegal occupation and unauthorised structures by July 17 in Imphal East and July 21 in Imphal West.

12th July 2024
Congress doesn’t care about people of Manipur, Rahul Gandhi trying to split state: Manipur Minister L Susindro

Congress does not care about the people of Manipur, said Minister Susindro

09th July 2024
Jiribam ambush: 2 arrested for attack on security forces ahead of Rahul Gandhi’s visit

Gandhi is on a day-long visit to Manipur to meet violence-hit people who are living in relief camps in Jiribam, Churanchandpur and Moirang

08th July 2024
Rahul Gandhi meets IDPs in Jiribam, on way to meet more in Churachandpur and Moirang

Rahul Gandhi is scheduled to meet Manipur Governor Anusuiya Uikey at the Governor’s House today at around 6 pm.

08th July 2024