Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Cong will win all 5 LS seats in first phase of polls in Assam: Bhupen Borah

First Published: 3rd April, 2024 13:03 IST

Bhupen Bora also downplayed the mass exodus of Congress leaders to the BJP and said that the defection would not affect the Grand old party

In a big political statement, Assam Congress Chief, Bhupen Bora has made an ambitious claim that the Congress party will win all 5 Lok Sabha seats in the upcoming 1st phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Assam.

Speaking exclusively to Northeast Live, Bhupen Bora said, “We are contesting in all 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. We are focusing on 5 seats in Upper Assam. Congress will play a very major role in this election. And we will win all 5 seats in Upper Assam in the first phase of elections.”

Underlining why people of the state will not vote for the BJP this time, Bora said, “The BJP government made commitments to give ST status to 6 communities, the majority of which are in upper Assam and are against the BJP. It had promised to increase the daily wages, of the tea garden workers, to implement the Assam Accord clauses 5 and 6, however, it failed to do so.”

‘From 2014 to 2021 BJP’s slogan was “BJP Aayega Bideshi Jayega (BJP will come, foreigners will go)”. But only two foreigners moved out of Assam so far. So, will the people of Assam vote for the BJP just to send two foreigners from Assam?” Bora added.

Bhupen Bora also downplayed the mass exodus of Congress leaders to the BJP and said that the defection would not affect the grand old party.

He stated that leaders are elected by the people, for the people and to the people, and those who have resigned will not be recognised as leaders.

“Leaders’ resignations affect the party temporarily. If someone leaves a position, it will open up opportunities for new leaders to emerge,” he added.

Elections to the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam will be held in three phases on April 19, 26 and May 7.

In the first phase, Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Kaziranga, Sonitpur and Lakhimpur will go to the polls on April 19.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Election-Assam: Union Min Sarbananda Sonowal campaigns in tea garden areas



Assam HSLC 2024 Results: Sevak Kharka from Baksa district scores highest marks in Nepali MIL

Candidates can view their results on, and other websites.

20th April 2024
Poll officer spot dead in road accident in Assam’s Lakhimpur

The deceased has been identified as Rajiv Lekharu, who was a professor at Bihpuria College in Lakhimpur district.

20th April 2024
Assam HSLC Exams 2024 Results Out: Pass percentage at 75.7%. Check toppers’ list here

A total of 4, 19, 78 students appeared in HSLC 2024

20th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Naba Kumar Sarania files nomination for Kokrajhar seat despite HC order

Despite the Gauhati High Court's ruling on Thursday, which declared Naba Kumar Sarania's Scheduled Tribe- Plains certificate invalid, he filed his nominations on Friday.

19th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BPF candidate for Kokrajhar Kampa Borgoyary files his nomination

The Bodoland people’s front (BPF) organised a massive public rally from Kampa Borgoyary’s residence to Kokrajhar DC office before filling the nomination papers.

19th April 2024