Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

BJP sweeps Tripura Municipal polls,

First Published: 28th November, 2021 21:04 IST

The ruling BJP has swept the Civic body and Nagar Panchayat elections winning as many as 217 of the total 222 seats that went to polls. The TMC, which fielded

The ruling BJP has swept the Civic body and Nagar Panchayat elections winning as many as 217 of the total 222 seats that went to polls. The TMC, which fielded candidates in around 120 seats, could win only one. The opposition CPI-M also suffered a big setback winning just 3 seats.

The BJP was victorious in all 51 wards of Agartala Municipal Corporation. Not only this it was a clean sweep by the BJP in all other Municipal councils and Nagar panchayat barring Ambassa where the TMC, CPI-M and Tipra won a seat each and Kailashahar and Panisagar where the CPI-M won 1 seat each.

There are a total of 334 seats in the urban local bodies, including Agartala Municipal Corporation, 13 Municipal councils and 6 Nagar panchayats. The BJP now has now won a whopping 329 of the total 334 seats with only 5 going to rivals. While it was a clear mandate for BJP, the TMC can still take heart from the fact that in a number of constituencies it has replaced the CPI-M as the runner-up.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the BJP workers in Tripura for the win. Taking to Twitter PM Modi stated and I quote THe People of Tripura have given a clear message that they prefer politics of good governance. I would like to thank them for unquivocal support to BJP.

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb took a jibe at the BJP’s rivals stating that those who tried to insult Tripura have been shown their place by the people.

Meanwhile, the despite winning just 1 of the 120 wards it contested, the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress is taking heart from the fact that it was able to retain the second spot in multiple seats thus garnering a decent vote share.



Tripura: Scuffle Breaks out Between BJP & CPI (M), 17 Injured

17 people, including 5 CPI (M) supporters and 12 BJP supporters were injured, condition of one is said to be critical

24th November 2022
MCD polls: Assam CM Sarma holds roadshow in Delhi, says people’s excitement gives clarity on election results 

The Assam Chief Minister said that people's excitement makes it clear what the result of the election will be.

20th November 2022
Tripura: Will Cong ally with TIPRA MOTHA?

Sudip Roy Barman makes big revelation. The Cong leader says his party is in touch with TIPRA MOTHA. Big development ahead of 2023 polls.

17th October 2022
Veteran politician Mulayam Singh Yadav no more

Mulayam Singh Yadav was shifted to the ICU at Medanta hospital in New Delhi last Sunday after his health deteriorated.

10th October 2022
Manipur: CM’s name not decided yet, indicates Th. Biswajit Singh

After holding crucial meetings with the BJP high command in New Delhi, party leader Thongam Biswajit Singh landed in Imphal this morning. The Thongju MLA, while speaking to the media, informed that the party high command will soon be taking a call on the formation of the new government in the state.  With the suspense […]

17th March 2022