Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur Assembly Elections: Politics erupts over BJP’s manifesto

The Congress yesterday locked horns with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) over the saffron party’s manifesto for Manipur Assembly Elections calling it a bunch of lies. The BJP hit back

The Congress yesterday locked horns with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) over the saffron party’s manifesto for Manipur Assembly Elections calling it a bunch of lies.

The BJP hit back saying that what the Congress is terming a bunch of lies is the BJP’s initiative to reach out to the underprivileged sections and can’t be termed as freebies.

Speaking to Northeast Live Editor in Chief Wasbir Hussain in the show Northeast Tonight, BJP leader Prithviraj Singh said that increasing old-age pension from Rs 200 to 1000 and giving scooties to girl students is a necessity.

It may be mentioned that the BJP has made a slew of promises in its manifesto ranging from free scooties and free laptops to meritorious college going girls and class 12 toppers. Besides, a 100 crore start-up fund too has been promised.

Also Read: Naga People’s Front campaigns in Tamenglong

But the BJP manifesto was silent on critical issues like Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) repeal although the party promised protection of Manipur’s territorial integrity.

Congress has decided to strike at the BJP over its silence on the AFSPA issue.
Jairam Ramesh, the party observer for the Manipur elections, termed the BJP’s promises in the manifesto as hollow. Ramesh also refuted the BJP allegations of misrule during the Congress regime.

In a manifesto which the party termed as its commitment for the next five years, the BJP has reached out to all sections from women to students, the elderly, farmers, fishermen, entrepreneurs and marginal workers.

Manipur will go for polls in two phases. The first phase will be held on February 28 and the second on March 5. 

The vote counting will take place on March 10.


First Published: 18th February, 2022 10:17 IST



Manipur: CM’s name not decided yet, indicates Th. Biswajit Singh

After holding crucial meetings with the BJP high command in New Delhi, party leader Thongam Biswajit Singh landed in Imphal this morning. The Thongju MLA, while speaking to the media, informed that the party high command will soon be taking a call on the formation of the new government in the state.  With the suspense […]

17th March 2022
Newly elected MLAs of Manipur Legislative Assembly to take Oath today

The elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will take oath of office today. The oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MLAs will begin at 11 am. The newly-elected MLAs include 32 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 7 from the National People’s Party (NPP), 6 from Janata Dal (United), 5 each from the Congress […]

14th March 2022
Assam Congress’ Debabrata Saikia accepts CM Sarma’s ‘district level party’ barb

After facing defeat in the recently concluded assembly elections in all the 5 states, coupled with the results of Majuli by-polls and Civil Polls, it appears like the Congress leaders of Assam are now slowly coming to terms with the party’s dismal political situation. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also one of […]

13th March 2022
Meghalaya: TMC leader Mukul Sangma lauds BJP for its performance in Assembly elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also received praise from an unlikely corner. Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and TMC leader Mukul Sangma has heaped praise on the BJP for its good show in the recently concluded Assembly elections. Lauding the saffron party’s performance, Mukul Sangma said that the BJP has scripted history, especially in Uttar […]

12th March 2022
Tripura: CPI (M) accuses BJP of attacking party workers

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI (M) in Tripura has alleged that the goons of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have attacked party supporters and resorted to vandalism across the state since March 10 following BJP’s landslide victory in four states in Assembly elections. CPI (M) state secretary and former MP Jitendra […]

12th March 2022