Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Nagaland: Mon district BJP, NDPP demands key portfolios for 2 NDPP MLAs & 1 BJP MLA

First Published: 5th March, 2023 21:33 IST

They want Home portfolio for Tizit MLA P Paiwang Konyak, Family Welfare for Tapi MLA Noke Wangnao and the Roads and Bridges dept for Tehok MLA CL John

Ahead of the swearing in of the Neiphiu Rio government in Nagaland on March 7, and even as Rio and NEDA convenor and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma met the BJP central leadership in New Delhi today to discuss portfolios and the government formation in Nagaland, the Mon district unit of NDPP and BJP have demanded that 3 of it’s elected MLAs be allotted key portfolios in the new government.

In a letter to Chief Minister designate Neiphiu Rio as well as BJP national secretary and Northeast co-convenor Rituraj Sinha, leaders of both the parties from Mon has urged the respective party leaderships to allot:
• Home department to Tizit MLA P Paiwang Konyak
• Family Welfare department to Tapi MLA Noke Wangnao
• and the Roads and Bridges department to Tehok MLA CL John

NEDA convenor Sarma and Rio met the BJP central leadership including Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda this evening to decide the final plan for the next government in Nagaland.

This would be the second term for the NDPP-BJP government in Nagaland. NDPP won 25 and BJP won 13 in the just concluded elections for the 14th Nagaland Assembly.



Nagaland village guards to protest State Govt’s failure to comply with court order regarding hike in salaries

The government would positively give recommendations when the expert committee file affidavit on August 4, president informed.

18th July 2023
Students of Tuensang face unique problem: 780 students and only 370 seats available in 2 higher secondary schools

There are only four higher secondary schools in the district: two are run by the government and two are privately owned

08th June 2023
Former Nagaland Minister YM Yollow Konyak passes away

The former minister died in a private hospital in New Delhi where he was undergoing treatment

22nd March 2023
Meet the three women ministers in just sworn in 3 NE state govts

While Salhoutuonuo Kruse became the first-ever woman minister of Nagaland, Meghalaya's longest-serving woman MLA Ampareen Lyngdoh remains the lone female face among the 12 Meghalaya Cabinet ministers and Santana Chakma becomes cabinet minister in Tripura for 2nd term

08th March 2023
Nagaland BJP President and state BJP president Temjen Imna Along wins Alongtaki seat

Hours before emerging victorious after trailing in the initial rounds, the BJP minister shared a humourous post saying, "Har ke jeet ne wale ko… kehte hain!

02nd March 2023