Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Former Tripura Congress chief Pijush Kanti Biswas and 5 others join TMC

First Published: 7th December, 2022 21:12 IST

As per sources, Biswas is likely to be the next president of TMC in Tripura

Former Tripura Congress party president Pijush Kanti Biswas and five other party leaders joined the All India Trinamool Congress in Delhi on Wednesday.

Besides, Pijush Kanti Biswas, five other party leaders who joined TMC are –Tejen Das(Advocate, Former General Secretary, TPCC), Ananta Banerjee (Advocate, Former General Secretary, TPCC), Bimal Rudra Paul (Former General Secretary, TPCC (In-Charge OBC)), Purnita Chakma (Former Working President, TPCC) and Samarendra Ghosh (Former General Secretary, TPYC).

The Congress leaders joined TMC in the presence of AITC chairperson and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee.

The development comes ahead of the upcoming elections in the state next year.

As per sources, Biswas is likely to be the next president of TMC in Tripura.

It may be mentioned that on August 21, 2021, Biswas had quite the Congress announcing his retirement from politics for personal reasons.

The 2023 Tripura Legislative Assembly election is scheduled to be held in Tripura before March 2023 to elect 60 members of the Tripura Legislative Assembly.

The tenure of Tripura Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on 22 March 2023.

With the Assembly elections set for next year, the political temperatures are soaring in the state.

Also Read: TIPRA Motha to go solo in 2023 polls, if Greater Tipraland demand not fulfilled



Shopkeeper shot after brawl in Aizawl, accused arrested

Lalnunsanga was arrested and the locally made 0.22 Pistol, loaded with two live ammunition was seized from his possession.

12th June 2024
Nagaland: NSF appeals for indigenous representation in ULB elections

“Electing non-Naga individuals to local governance positions poses a significant risk to the preservation of the cultural heritage of Nagas,” NSF said.

12th June 2024
Pema Khandu elected Arunachal Legislature Party leader, to be sworn in as CM tomorrow

Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Kiren Rijiju, Assam and Sikkim CMs to attend oath taking ceremony of Khandu, youngest CM of India

12th June 2024
Salman Khan’s statement recorded by Mumbai Crime Branch over firing incident outside his residence

In the post, Arbaaz stated that the particular "disturbing" incident has affected the family.

12th June 2024
Assam govt announces stipend scheme ‘Nijut Moina’ for girl students to curb child marriage

Married girls are not eligible for this perk. The only exception will be those married girls who are enrolled in PG courses, they will also benefit, he added.

12th June 2024