Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Who is Kriti Singh Debbarma, the BJP candidate for Tripura East LS seat?

First Published: 14th March, 2024 18:16 IST

Her husband and parents-law are not just royals but they have been MLAs in the Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh Assemblies

Maharani Kriti Singh Debbarma, who has been named as the BJP candidate for the East Tripura Parliamentary constituency is a royal from Tripura married into the royal family of Kawardha in Chhattisgarh and a family of politicians. Her husband and parents-law are not just royals but they have been MLAs in the Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh Assemblies.

Kriti Singh Debbarma, known as a ‘Maharajkumari’ or princess, hails from Tripura’s Manikya dynasty and is sister of Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma, the founder of the Tipra Motha party.

She did her schooling from Loreto Convent in Shillong. She is recognized for her work in environmental conservation and sustainable development in the Northeast region, particularly in initiatives related to water management, watershed development, and rural projects.

She has been actively involved in promoting organic farming, horticulture, and the preservation of indigenous cattle breeds along with actively promoting water management, watershed development and rural development projects in the Panna district of Madhya Pradesh.

She is married to Yogeshwar Raj Singh, a former Congress politician and scion of the Kawardha Raj royal family of Chhattisgarh.

Yogeshwar Raj Singh is the son of Late Vishwaraj Pratap Singh and Late Shashi Prabha Devi.  Vishwaraj Pratap Singh was the titular Raja of Kawardha State from 1959-1971. He was a member of Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh from Kawardha constituency as a member of Akhil Bharatiya Ram Rajya Parishad from 1962-67. He died on 14 May 2007.

Kriti Singh’s mother-in-law, Shashi Prabha Devi, famously known as the Rajmata of the princely state of Kawardha, Chhattisgarh was an MLA from Kawardha constituency during the period 1977 to 1980 from Akhil Bharatiya Ramrajya Parishad and a Congress MLA from 1985 to 1990. Rajmata was a highly influential personality with property worth crores of rupees in Kawardha district. She passed away on October 24, 2020

Yogeswar raj Singh, who previously represented the Kawardha Assembly seat of undivided Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly by winning election in years 1998 and later as part of Chhattisgarh in 2003, later resigned from the Congress party.

Maharani Kriti Singh Debbarma had contested as an independent candidate from Kawardha but lost the elections.

Currently, Kriti Singh Debbarma manages the Palace Kawardha Heritage Hotel in Chhattisgarh.



Lok Sabha Polls 2024: 1625 candidates in fray in phase I for 102 Parliamentary constituencies

Of the total 1,625 candidates, 1,491 are male and 134 are female candidates

09th April 2024
Arunachal: Mass rally in Hollongi in support of BJP’s Doimukh candidate Tana Hali

Tana Hali Tara is the sitting MLA of Doimukh constituency in Arunachal Pradesh. He was elected to seat in 2019 assembly elections with a total of 8403 votes defeating Nabam Vivek of the National People's Party with a margin of 2385 votes

04th April 2024
Fmr Sikkim CM and SDF chief Pawan Chamling promises to boost agriculture and rural development in state if elected

Pawan Chamling said that the party has multiple projects for rural Sikkim targeted at increasing the income of villagers and farmers

01st April 2024
SKM Lok Sabha candidate Indra Hang Subba exudes confidence of winning the elections

While addressing he said judging by the development and progress Sikkim has seen under the SKM government, people will definitely vote for the party again.

30th March 2024
Mizoram LS Polls 2024: Voting date, Candidate Profile, Constituencies

Voting for the lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 19. Five candidates are in the fray including ruling ZPM’s Richard Vanlalhmangaiha and MNF’s K Vanlalvena

23rd March 2024