Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Mizoram LS Polls 2024: Voting date, Candidate Profile, Constituencies

First Published: 23rd March, 2024 18:13 IST

Voting for the lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 19. Five candidates are in the fray including ruling ZPM’s Richard Vanlalhmangaiha and MNF’s K Vanlalvena

Five candidates would be fighting for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram. Voting will take place in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 19. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.

The candidates in fray are –

K Vanlalvena, 54, is the Mizo National Front’s (MNF) candidate for the Mizoram seat. Vanlalvena is the sitting Rajya Sabha MP from Mizoram since June 2020. A former student leader who had served as the president of Mizo Zirlai Pawl, the apex students body of the state, he joined the MNF in 2002 as the General Secretary of the party youth’s wing.

Vanlalvena has been very vocal in the Rajya Sabha about issues related to Mizoram.

Filing his nomination on March 22, Vanlalvena said that he would continue to raise the issues related to the people of Mizoram and if elected as the MP to the Lower House he would speak in Mizo in the House. He said this with reference to people usually saying that one has to know English or Hindi to speak in Parliament.

Richard Vanlalhmangaiha, 48, is the candidate of the ruling Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM).  He is a newbie and is contesting the elections for the first time, but he comes from a family of politicians. His grandmother L. Thanmawii was the first elected female MLA of Mizoram and his grandfather, Dr. Rosiama was the Chairman when the Mizo District Council was formed in 1952.

A Commerce graduate from Hrangbana College, Aizawl, Richard, popularly known as Richie, is an entrepreneur now after his stint as Assistant Manager of the Mizoram Agriculture Marketing Corporation (MAMCO) which he left in 2015.

Lalbiakzama is the Congress candidate in the fray. He too is a first timer. A retired Mizoram Police Officer who joined the Mizoram Police Service in 1988, he served as the President of Mizoram Police Service Association thrice. He had also served as the Mizoram Home Secretary. He is among the few Mizoram police personnel who served in the United Nations Peace Keeping Mission twice.

Rita Malsawmi is the People’s Conference (PC) party candidate for the Lok Sabha elections. Mizo singer and lyricist by profession, Rita is contesting the Lok Sabha polls for the first time.

Lalhriatrenga Chhangte is contesting the elections as an Independent candidate. He is a former BJP and Congress leader. He contested the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 as an Independent candidate and secured 12,657 votes but could not win the elections.

Mizoram has a total of 8,61,277 voters with 4,14,777 male electors, 4,41,520 female electors and 4,980 service electors. A total of 1,276 polling stations (Urban-525 & Rural-751) are being set up for this year’s Lok Sabha election, which is an increase of 101 polling stations from Lok Sabha election of 2019. For the upcoming Lok Sabha election, Aizawl district has 514 Ballot Units, 523 Control Units and 541 VVPATS.



Lok Sabha Polls 2024: 1625 candidates in fray in phase I for 102 Parliamentary constituencies

Of the total 1,625 candidates, 1,491 are male and 134 are female candidates

09th April 2024
Arunachal: Mass rally in Hollongi in support of BJP’s Doimukh candidate Tana Hali

Tana Hali Tara is the sitting MLA of Doimukh constituency in Arunachal Pradesh. He was elected to seat in 2019 assembly elections with a total of 8403 votes defeating Nabam Vivek of the National People's Party with a margin of 2385 votes

04th April 2024
Fmr Sikkim CM and SDF chief Pawan Chamling promises to boost agriculture and rural development in state if elected

Pawan Chamling said that the party has multiple projects for rural Sikkim targeted at increasing the income of villagers and farmers

01st April 2024
SKM Lok Sabha candidate Indra Hang Subba exudes confidence of winning the elections

While addressing he said judging by the development and progress Sikkim has seen under the SKM government, people will definitely vote for the party again.

30th March 2024
INDIA alliance not working, shall turn to a single alphabet soon: Tripura CM Manik Saha

“It can be well understood that their alliance is just an eyewash. They thought that if the name is INDIA they shall be able to befool the public, but people understand everything. Now the name has become INDI “he further added.

23rd March 2024