Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio wishes Dr. Chumben Murry, PDA consensus candidate for LS polls

First Published: 20th March, 2024 14:19 IST

Murry is a two-time MLA representing the Wokha seat. He contested the Nagaland Assembly elections thrice in 2008, 2013 and 2018

The chief minister of Nagaland Neiohiu Rio extended his best wishes to Dr. Chumben Murry, PDA consensus candidate for Lok Sabha Elections 2024. A two-time MLA from Wokha and a former Nagaland minister, Murry is currently the Advisor to CM Rio.

The chief minister in his address has urged the citizens of Nagaland to support him and the NDA government under the leadership of PM Modi.

Taking to X the chief minister wrote, Best wishes to Dr. Chumben Murry, PDA consensus candidate for #LokSabhaElections. With his experience in public service, he will represent our State well. I urge the citizens of Nagaland to support him & the NDA Govt under the leadership of Hon’ble @PMOIndia Shri @narendramodi ji”

Chumben Murry, 62, is a Doctor turned politician, who hails from Nagaland. He has been a two-time MLA from Wokha. He contested the Nagaland Assembly elections thrice, in 2008, 2013 and 2018.

In 2018, Murry won the Wokha seat with a total of 14,870 votes. He contested the polls on an NPF (National People’s Front) ticket.

In 2013, Murry lost the Wokha seat to NCP candidate Dr T M Lotha. Murry polled 14,919 votes. He contested as an NPF candidate.

In 2008, he won the Wokha seat for the first time with 14,181 votes on NCP ticket.

The ruling Nagaland Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) has selected Dr. Chumben Murry as the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate to contest the lone Lok Sabha seat of Nagaland.

Murry’s name was selected as consensus candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls during the NDPP Parliamentary Board meeting.



Lok Sabha Polls 2024: 1625 candidates in fray in phase I for 102 Parliamentary constituencies

Of the total 1,625 candidates, 1,491 are male and 134 are female candidates

09th April 2024
Arunachal: Mass rally in Hollongi in support of BJP’s Doimukh candidate Tana Hali

Tana Hali Tara is the sitting MLA of Doimukh constituency in Arunachal Pradesh. He was elected to seat in 2019 assembly elections with a total of 8403 votes defeating Nabam Vivek of the National People's Party with a margin of 2385 votes

04th April 2024
Fmr Sikkim CM and SDF chief Pawan Chamling promises to boost agriculture and rural development in state if elected

Pawan Chamling said that the party has multiple projects for rural Sikkim targeted at increasing the income of villagers and farmers

01st April 2024
SKM Lok Sabha candidate Indra Hang Subba exudes confidence of winning the elections

While addressing he said judging by the development and progress Sikkim has seen under the SKM government, people will definitely vote for the party again.

30th March 2024
Mizoram LS Polls 2024: Voting date, Candidate Profile, Constituencies

Voting for the lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 19. Five candidates are in the fray including ruling ZPM’s Richard Vanlalhmangaiha and MNF’s K Vanlalvena

23rd March 2024