Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel
Last Updated: 23rd March, 2024 16:07 IST

LS Polls 2024: Meghalaya Minister and NPP leader Ampareen Lyngdoh files nomination for Shillong seat

First Published: 22nd March, 2024 15:42 IST

Ampareen Lyngdoh is pitted against 3-times MP from the Shillong seat, Vincent Pala of the Congress

Meghalaya’s Health, Law, Information and Agriculture Minister and National People’s Party (NPP) leader Ampareen Lyngdoh today filed her nomination papers for the Shillong Parliamentary seat ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Five-time MLA and the longest-serving woman legislator of Meghalaya, Lyngdoh filed her nomination papers at the DC office in Secretariat Hall, Shillong. She was accompanied by Dy Chief Ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar.

Large number of her supporters gathered outside the East Khasi Hills DC office to cheer her and show their support for her.

Before filing her nomination, she paid tribute to her father, two-time former Lok Sabha MP late Peter G. Marbaniang and vowed to carry forward his legacy and values.

Her father was Lok Sabha MP from 1989 to 1996, Speaker of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly and a Minister in the Government of Meghalaya.

After filing her nomination, Lyngdoh took to X and wrote,” In filing my nomination for the Shillong Lok Sabha constituency, I commit to prioritize the prosperity of our state and the empowerment of every citizen. It is time to showcase the formidable capabilities and leadership of women in Meghalaya.Ha Ka Kot!”

Chief Minister and NPP national president, Conrad Sangma said that this election is very important for the party.

“Our candidate for Shillong Lok Sabha Constituency Dr M.

@ampareenlyngdoh filed her nomination today. This election is very important for the National People’s Party (NPP) and as Meghalayan’s we have to demonstrate our strength and regard for our women. Together, we shall strive to showcase to the nation that Meghalaya and its people believe in the potential of our women, who can lead us and voice the concerns for the State in the Lok Sabha. Wishing her the best!,” CM Sangma posted on X.

In the Shillong seat, Ampareen Lyngdoh is pitted against State Congress president Vincent H Pala, Regional Democratic Alliance’s Robertjune Kharjahrin and Voice of the People’s Party (VPP) candidate Dr. Ricky J Syngkon. BJP decided to support the NPP candidate that is Ampareen Lyngdoh.

Ampareen Lyngdoh belongs to a family of veteran politicians of Meghalaya. She started her political career as a member of the Indian Youth Congress and was closely involved in the election campaigns of her father and her brother Robert G. Lyngdoh, Laitumkhrah MLA for 2 terms between 1998 to 2008 and Meghalaya’s former Home and Education minister, before joining active politics herself.

Ampareen Lyngdoh has won Assembly bypolls in 2008 as UDP candidate and 2009 as Congress candidate and elections in 2013, 2018 as Congress candiate and 2023 as NPP candidate.

She joined the United Democratic Party (UDP) in 2008 after Congress refused to give her a ticket to contest the 2008 state assembly elections. She contested the 2008 assembly election from Laitumkhrah constituency and won the seat.

In 2009 she contested the by-election in the Laitumkhrah constituency as a Congress candidate and again won the seat.

In the 2013 assembly elections, she contested the East Shillong Constituency, defeating UDP candidate and former Deputy Chief Minister Bindo M Lanong.

She has served as the Minister for Urban Development, Labour Affairs, Public Works Department, Labour Affairs, Government of Meghalaya from 2009 to 2013.

In the 2018 assembly elections, Lyngdoh contested the same seat and secured the seat once again. Ampareen resigned from the Congress in December 2022 and immediately joined the NPP.

In the 2023, assembly elections, Lyngdoh won the seat as an NPP candidate and was inducted into the Conrad Sangma Cabinet as a minister.



Lok Sabha Polls 2024: 1625 candidates in fray in phase I for 102 Parliamentary constituencies

Of the total 1,625 candidates, 1,491 are male and 134 are female candidates

09th April 2024
Arunachal: Mass rally in Hollongi in support of BJP’s Doimukh candidate Tana Hali

Tana Hali Tara is the sitting MLA of Doimukh constituency in Arunachal Pradesh. He was elected to seat in 2019 assembly elections with a total of 8403 votes defeating Nabam Vivek of the National People's Party with a margin of 2385 votes

04th April 2024
Fmr Sikkim CM and SDF chief Pawan Chamling promises to boost agriculture and rural development in state if elected

Pawan Chamling said that the party has multiple projects for rural Sikkim targeted at increasing the income of villagers and farmers

01st April 2024
SKM Lok Sabha candidate Indra Hang Subba exudes confidence of winning the elections

While addressing he said judging by the development and progress Sikkim has seen under the SKM government, people will definitely vote for the party again.

30th March 2024
Mizoram LS Polls 2024: Voting date, Candidate Profile, Constituencies

Voting for the lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 19. Five candidates are in the fray including ruling ZPM’s Richard Vanlalhmangaiha and MNF’s K Vanlalvena

23rd March 2024