Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Cong declares candidate for Assam’s Lakhimpur seat, Manipur and Mizoram in 4th list

First Published: 24th March, 2024 16:01 IST

The much anticipated lakhimpur seat in Assam will be contested by Uday Shankar Hazarika.

Copy edited by Indira Chetry

The Indian National Congress on Saturday released its fourth list of 46 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2024. The list contains 4 names from the Northeast – 1 each from Assam and Mizoram and 2 from Manipur.

The much anticipated Lakhimpur seat in Assam will be contested by Uday Shankar Hazarika.

In Manipur the Congress has fielded Prof. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam for Inner Manipur and Alfred Kanngan S. Arthur for Outer Manipur. Northeast Live had reported about this on March 22.

The lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram will be contested by Lalbiakzama.

The list features high-profile names like Digvijay Singh, Ajay Rai, Karti Chidambaram, Danish Ali, Imran Masood among others.

Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Ajay Rai, who will contest for the third time in Lok Sabha, is pitted against Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi.

Besides the names for the northeastern states, the fourth list, includes names of candidates for 12 seats of Madhya Pradesh, 9 of Uttar Pradesh, 7 of Tamil Nadu, 4 of Maharashtra, 2 each of Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Jammu and Kashmir, and 1 each of West Bengal, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Chhattisgarh.



Assam HSLC 2024 Results: Sevak Kharka from Baksa district scores highest marks in Nepali MIL

Candidates can view their results on, and other websites.

20th April 2024
Poll officer spot dead in road accident in Assam’s Lakhimpur

The deceased has been identified as Rajiv Lekharu, who was a professor at Bihpuria College in Lakhimpur district.

20th April 2024
Assam HSLC Exams 2024 Results Out: Pass percentage at 75.7%. Check toppers’ list here

A total of 4, 19, 78 students appeared in HSLC 2024

20th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Naba Kumar Sarania files nomination for Kokrajhar seat despite HC order

Despite the Gauhati High Court's ruling on Thursday, which declared Naba Kumar Sarania's Scheduled Tribe- Plains certificate invalid, he filed his nominations on Friday.

19th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BPF candidate for Kokrajhar Kampa Borgoyary files his nomination

The Bodoland people’s front (BPF) organised a massive public rally from Kampa Borgoyary’s residence to Kokrajhar DC office before filling the nomination papers.

19th April 2024