Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Gujarat and Himachal Poll Results 2022: Date, Time, Key Candidates & Seats, all you need to know

First Published: 7th December, 2022 16:53 IST

Multiple exit polls have predicted a seventh term for BJP in Gujarat and a second term for Himachal Pradesh

Counting of votes for the 182-seat Gujarat Assembly and 68- seat Himachal Pradesh Assembly would be held tomorrow.

Multiple exit polls have predicted a seventh term for BJP in Gujarat and a second term in Himachal Pradesh. The exit polls have predicted a massive 117-148 seat win for the BJP in Gujarat with Congress predicted to bag 30-51 seats and new entrant AAP expected to win just about 3-13 seats.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma was a star campaigner for the Gujarat polls. Gujarat is the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah.

As far as Gujarat is concerned, the fate of 1,621 candidates will be decided tomorrow. A party would have to win 92 seats to form a government in the state. BJP has been ruling the state for 27 years.

All eyes will be on Ghatlodia constituency. Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel is contesting from this seat against Congress’s Amee Yajnik.

Another important seat is Jamnagar North. India cricketer Ravindra Jadeja’s wife Rivaba Jadeja is representing the BJP from this seat. Veteran leader Bipendrasinh Jadeja has been fielded by the Congress. The AAP’s candidate is Karsan Karmur.

The other key constituencies include Viramgam – the key candidates in this seat are sitting Congress MLA Lakhabhai Bharwad, Patidar leader Hardik Patel fighting his maiden Assembly polls.

Morbi, the site of the recent bridge collapse tragedy where BJP has fielded Kantilal Amrutiya Amrutiya, a five-time former BJP MLA. He was almost forgotten and written off in political circles till the bridge collapse tragedy happened and he emerged as the hero.
Amrutiya’a act of bravery, when he jumped into the river to save drowning people hit the headlines making him the Morbi hero and it is also being seen as one of the main reasons for him being given the ticket.

He won from the Morbi seat in 1995, 1998, 2002, 2007 and 2012, but lost in 2017. In 2017, he lost to Congress candidate Brijesh Merja, who later joined the BJP and won by-election from Morbi to again enter the Assembly. He is currently serving as a minister in the BJP government.

Sabarmati constituency – PM Modi’s home constituency. PM Modi is a registered voter from Ranip area that falls in this constituency that has been a BJP stronghold for decades. This time BJP’s Harshadbhai Patel, Congress’s Dinesh Mahida and AAP’s Jasvant Thakor are the contestants. Home minister Shah voted in Ahmedabad.

Surat, Porbandar, Khambhalia, Dwarka, Jalalpore, Navsari, Vansda (ST), Porbandar, Dhoraji, Jasdan, Rajkot, Bardoli and Limbayat are some of the other significant constituencies.

Shifting focus to Himachal Pradesh, the fate of 412 candidates will be decided tomorrow. There are 24 female candidates.
The state has a record of voting out the incumbent government since 1985.
The emergence of the Aam Aadmi Party as the third major political force in the state had intensified the electoral battle in Himachal Pradesh this time.
In the 2017 Assembly elections, the BJP formed the government by winning 44 seats while Congress securing only 21 seats.

The results will be announced in the backdrop of AAP registering a clear win in the civic polls of Delhi putting end to BJP’s 15-year undisputed rule over MCD, said to be one of world’s biggest civic bodies.



BSP chief Mayawati announces nephew Anand Akash as successor

The decision came days after the setback in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

23rd June 2024
Ministry of Education constitutes a High-Level Committee of Experts to ensure transparent, smooth and fair conduct of examinations

The Committee shall submit its report to the Ministry within two months from the date of issue of this order. The Committee can co-opt any Subject Matter Expert to assist them.

22nd June 2024
Bangladesh PM Hasina receives ceremonial welcome at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina and PM Modi met with ministers and delegates from both countries at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan

22nd June 2024
Six children injured after shed falls in Maharashtra’s Thane

According to the officials, the injured children have been admitted to Bethany Hospital, Thane for treatment.

22nd June 2024
Tamil Nadu: 25 dead, over 60 hospitalised in Kallakurichi after consuming illicit liqour

TN Governor RN Ravi condoled the deaths and wished for a speedyrecovery of the victims.

20th June 2024