Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Assam: Full list of ministers in newly formed Himanta Biswa Sarma-led government

Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday, took oath as the state’s 15th Chief Minister of Assam along with 13 other cabinet ministers at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati. The new

Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday, took oath as the state’s 15th Chief Minister of Assam along with 13 other cabinet ministers at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati.


The new cabinet has ministers from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance partners Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). Many of those, who were ministers in the cabinet led by former chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, have also been included in the new ministry.

The newly sworn-in cabinet ministers include State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass, AGP president Atul Bora and UPPL founder president UG Brahma.

Parimal Suklabaidya, Keshab Mahanta, Chandramohan Patowary, Sanjay Kishan, Pijush Hazarika and Jogen Mahan, who were ministers during the Sonowal regime also retained berths in the new ministry.

BJP MLAs Ajanta Neog, Ranoj Pegu, Ashok Singhal and Bimal Bora also took oath as cabinet ministers.

Ajanta Neog who joined BJP ahead of assembly polls was a Congress minister in Tarun Gogoi-led governments. Whereas, Ranoj Pegu and Ashok Singhal were inducted as ministers for the first time.

Ranoj Pegu, Sanjay Kishan, Jogen Mohan, Ajanta Neog, Ashok Singhal take oath as ministers

During the meeting of the BJP Legislature Party held in Guwahati on Sunday, Himanta Biswa Sarma was elected as its new leader.

Later on Sunday, Himanta Biswa Sarma, accompanied by Sonowal other party MLAs and leaders met Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi at the Raj Bhawan and staked claim to form government in the state.

First Published: 10th May, 2021 13:32 IST



3-day celebration to observe district day in Dibrugarh

The vibrant cultural procession saw, multi-ethnic groups portraying the diverse culture of the Dibrugarh district.

01st October 2022
Festive fervour grips Assam on Maha Shashti

Today is Maha Shashti, and this auspicious occasion marks the commencement of Durga Puja festivities wherein devotees welcome Goddess Durga with pomp and gusto. Today, Goddess Durga’s deity is unveiled in front of the public. Several rituals are performed while the ‘dhakis’ keep the mood and spirit of the puja alive by playing the ‘dhak’—a […]

01st October 2022
Over 80 families from Haflong seek fair compensation for 2 way Assam Mala project

Uncertainty looms large over the construction of the 2 way Assam Mala project from Haflong Tinali to Lower Haflong in Dima Hasao as over 80 families have knocked on the doors of the Gauhati High Court, seeking fair compensation for their land and crops.  Families whose land, gardens, and crops stand to be lost as […]

30th September 2022
Magnitude 5.6 earthquake strikes Myanmar, tremors felt in parts of NE

A 5.2 magnitude earthquake struck Myanmar today, in wee hours. The tremors are felt in parts of the northeast including Manipur, Nagaland and Southern Assam. According to the National Centre For Seismology, the earthquake hit Myanmar at 3:52 am at a depth of 140 km.  Also Read : Assam: DC, ADC of Hojai suspended following misbehaviour […]

30th September 2022
India vs SA T20: Both teams are set to hold practice session at Barsapara stadium today

Cricket fever has gripped Assam. After an impressive show in the first T20 against South Africa, India will be keen to deliver once again in the second T20.  After arriving in Guwahati yesterday, the Indian cricket team and the South African team are all set to hold their respective practice sessions at the Barsapara stadium […]

30th September 2022