Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

LS Polls 2024: Assam AAP withdraws Guwahati LS candidate, asks Cong to withdraw its Dibrugarh, Sonitpur candidates

First Published: 15th March, 2024 16:21 IST

AAP has said that it would contest from Dibrugarh and Sonitpur and has urged Congress to withdraw its candidates from these two seats

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Friday announced its decision to withdraw its candidate Bhaben Choudhury from the Guwahati Lok Sabha seat “in the interest of Opposition unity”. Choudhury is the President of AAP in Assam.

The party said that it will now contest from Dibrugarh and Sonitpur constituencies only and has urged the Congress to withdraw it candidates from these two seats.

Congress has not fielded any candidate in Dibrugarh. It has left the seat for its ally, Assam Jatiya Parishad. AJP leader Lurinjyoti Gogoi would be contesting from the Dibrugarh seat. The party has fielded Prem Lal Ganju from Sonitpur.

In a tweet on X, AAP said that if the Congress does not withdraw its candidates, it would mean it wants the BJP to win from Dibrugarh and Sonitpur. 

Taking to X AAP wrote,”AAP withdraws it’s candidate from Assam’s Guwahati Lok Sabha seat so that Anti-BJP votes do not split.

This is despite AAP getting 2nd highest votes in GMC elections last year.

AAP will fight on 2 Lok Sabha seats in Assam.

1. Sonitpur

2. Dibrugarh

AAP appeals to Congress to reciprocate and withdraw their candidature from these two seats, or it would mean that Congress wants BJP to win at these two seats.”

In another tweet, AAP wrote, “We, the Aam Aadmi Party, have given up the Guwahati seat in the interest of Opposition unity. We demand the leadership of the Opposition Unity that you also give up the two seats in Dibrugarh and Sonitpur,”

Congress would be contesting 13 of the 14 Assam Lok Sabha seats. On March 12, the Congress released a list of 12 candidates.

Following are the names of the Congress candidates and their constituencies contesting from Assam:

1.            Jorhat: Gaurav Gogoi

2.            Nagaon: Pradyut Bordoloi

3.            Dhubri: Rakibul Hussain

4.            Darang–Udalguri: Madhab Rabanshi

5.            Gauhati: Meera Borthakur Goswami

6.            Kokrajhar: Garjan Mashhary

7.            Barpeta: Deep Bayan

8.            Diphu: Joyram Engleng

9.            Karimganj: Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudhury

10.          Silchar: Surjya Kanta Sarkar

11.          Kaziranga: Roselina Tirkey

12.          Sonitpur: Prem Lal Ganju

Earlier, on February 8, AAP MP Sandeep Pathak announced that AAP candidate Manoj Dhanohar will contest from Dibrugarh and Rishi Raj from Sonitpur.



Tiger on the loose in Assam’s Bokakhat, Section 144 imposed in 3 villages

People of Ahomgaon, Barigaon and Sukanigaon have been given restrictive orders owing to the tiger roaming freely in the area.

12th June 2024
Assam govt announces stipend scheme ‘Nijut Moina’ for girl students to curb child marriage

Married girls are not eligible for this perk. The only exception will be those married girls who are enrolled in PG courses, they will also benefit, he added.

12th June 2024
Guwahati becomes second city in India after Jammu to have IIT, IIM, and AIIMS

The IIM set to be built at Marabhita in Palasbari near Guwahati is the second IIM in the Northeast. Until now, the only IIM in the Northeast is in Shillong, Meghalaya.

12th June 2024
Watch: Shopkeeper at Guwahati Rly station over charges for cake. See what the customer did

If that was not all, the shopkeeper at the JR Khana Khazana catering stall at the Platform- 2/3 when confronted on the matter was seen going furious in the video.

11th June 2024
Assam: Girl shot dead in her sleep

The firing incident took place at around 1 am today in Arlong Langso village of Diphu.

11th June 2024