Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

AFSPA extended in 4 districts of Assam for another 6 months from April 1

First Published: 29th March, 2024 8:56 IST

The four districts are--Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Charaideo and Sivasagar

The Centre has extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (AFSPA) in four districts of Assam for another six months with effect from April 1.

The four districts are–Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Charaideo and Sivasagar.

The development has come after the Assam Police Headquarters submitted a report to the government suggesting the imposition of “Disturbed Area” under AFSPA be extended beyond March 31, 2024.

“The Assam Police Headquarters have submitted a report showing the improvement of Law and Order situation in the state of Assam barring one militant organization being active in 4 districts of Assam viz. Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Sivasagar and Charaideo and offered views that the imposition of “Disturbed Area” under Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 may be continued in the above mentioned districts of Assam beyond 31st March, 2024,” Assam government said in a statement.

AFSPA has also been extended in Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland for another six months with effect from April 1.

Centre has extended AFSPA in certain districts of Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland too.

In Arunachal, AFSPA has been extended in Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts. Besides, areas falling under Namsai, Mahadevpur and Chowkham police stations in Namsai district.

In Nagaland, AFSPA has been extended in 8 districts–Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek and Peren, and 21 police station limits in five districts of the state.

AFSPA has also been extended in areas of-
i). Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza and Kezocha police station in Kohima district
ii). Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem and Anaki police stations in Mokokchung
iii). Yanglok police station in Longleng district
iv). Bhandari, Champang and Ralan police stations in Wokha district
v). Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhoto, Zunheboto and Aghunato in Zunheboto district.

Also Read: AFSPA extended in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland

Also Watch:



Assam CM Sarma calls BJP manifesto ‘comprehensive list of PM Modi’s guarantees’

While, in its election manifesto - 'Sankalp Patra', BJP has vowed to implement the Union Civil Code (UCC), maintain peace in the Northeast, among other key poll promises.

14th April 2024
Assam: Woman arrested for physically torturing minor housemaid in Dibrugarh

The victim is now with the Dibrugarh Child Line authorities

14th April 2024
Assam: Forest personnel accidentally shoots man while chasing rhino

It may be mentionmed here that the rhino, after straying out of Kaziranga National Park, had attacked a local, injuring him seriously.

13th April 2024
Assam: Fmr AKRSU president Arun Rai and 31 others join UPPL

Many others will also join the party soon, said Arun Rai.

12th April 2024
BPF’s toxic atmosphere compels its leaders to quit, the party may vanish soon: Pramod Boro

Pramod Boro's remarks come in the wake of the recent resignation of former deputy chief of the Bodo Territorial Council Chandan Brahma from BPF.

12th April 2024