Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur Elections 2022: Polling for final phase underway at 22 constituencies

Voting for the much awaited final phase of Manipur Assembly Elections 2022 is underway. Polling has began at 7 am at a total of 22 constituencies spread across 6 districts

Voting for the much awaited final phase of Manipur Assembly Elections 2022 is underway. Polling has began at 7 am at a total of 22 constituencies spread across 6 districts in the state.

As many as 92 candidates, including two women, are in the fray for the second phase. The two women candidates are CPI’s Y Romita from Kakching Assembly constituency and BJP’s SS Olish from Chandel Assembly constituency.

The second phase of polling is extremely crucial for all parties and will play a decisive role in ascertaining who forms the next government in the state. As such a lot is at stake for the candidates as voting begins today.

Of the total candidates, 22 candidates are from the BJP, 18 from the Congress, 10 each of Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Naga People’s Front (NPF), 11 of National People’s Party (NPP), two each of Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), three of Republican Party of India-Athawale (RPI-A), one each of Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party (RJSP) and CPI, and 12 independent candidates.

Also Read: Manipur Elections Phase 2- A look at key contests

It may be mentioned that the Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas (LJP-R), the newly formed Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA), and the Kuki National Assembly (KNA) did not field any of their candidates in the second phase.

There are a total of 1247 polling stations including six auxiliary polling stations And as many as 8,47,400 electors are expected to exercise their franchise.

Of the six auxiliary polling stations, four are in Thoubal and another two in Churachandpur. Thoubal, which has the highest number of assembly constituencies, will have 395 polling stations.

Voting will continued till 4 pm today. The voters who are infected with Covid-19 or under quarantine will be allowed to vote at the last hour, between 3 pm to 4 pm.

The Counting of votes will take place on March 10.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

First Published: 5th March, 2022 9:01 IST



Manipur: CM’s name not decided yet, indicates Th. Biswajit Singh

After holding crucial meetings with the BJP high command in New Delhi, party leader Thongam Biswajit Singh landed in Imphal this morning. The Thongju MLA, while speaking to the media, informed that the party high command will soon be taking a call on the formation of the new government in the state.  With the suspense […]

17th March 2022
Newly elected MLAs of Manipur Legislative Assembly to take Oath today

The elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will take oath of office today. The oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MLAs will begin at 11 am. The newly-elected MLAs include 32 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 7 from the National People’s Party (NPP), 6 from Janata Dal (United), 5 each from the Congress […]

14th March 2022
Assam Congress’ Debabrata Saikia accepts CM Sarma’s ‘district level party’ barb

After facing defeat in the recently concluded assembly elections in all the 5 states, coupled with the results of Majuli by-polls and Civil Polls, it appears like the Congress leaders of Assam are now slowly coming to terms with the party’s dismal political situation. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also one of […]

13th March 2022
Meghalaya: TMC leader Mukul Sangma lauds BJP for its performance in Assembly elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also received praise from an unlikely corner. Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and TMC leader Mukul Sangma has heaped praise on the BJP for its good show in the recently concluded Assembly elections. Lauding the saffron party’s performance, Mukul Sangma said that the BJP has scripted history, especially in Uttar […]

12th March 2022
Tripura: CPI (M) accuses BJP of attacking party workers

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI (M) in Tripura has alleged that the goons of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have attacked party supporters and resorted to vandalism across the state since March 10 following BJP’s landslide victory in four states in Assembly elections. CPI (M) state secretary and former MP Jitendra […]

12th March 2022