Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur Elections Phase 2- A look at key contests

A total of over 8.40 lakh people are expected to cast their votes in the second phase of Manipur Assembly elections with 92 candidates in fray. Of the 92, only

A total of over 8.40 lakh people are expected to cast their votes in the second phase of Manipur Assembly elections with 92 candidates in fray. Of the 92, only two are female candidates.

Polling is set to take place in the electoral districts of Thoubal which has 10 assembly seats, Ukhrul, Senapati and Tamenglong with 3 Assembly seats each, Chandel with 2 seats and 1 assembly constituency in Jiribam.

While the BJP is contesting all 22 seats in this phase, the Congress is in fray in 18 seats, the NPP in 11 and the NPF and JD-U in 10 each.

This will be a crucial phase of polling for all parties including the ruling BJP which is looking to better its tally in the hill districts. It will also be a litmus test for the Congress which is looking to retain its 2017 seats. The NPF and the NPP, both of whom are aiming double digits this time will also hope for a good show.

Among key candidates in fray in this phase is Okram Ibobi Singh. The veteran Congress leader and three-time Manipur CM is once again contesting from his home turf of Thoubal where he had registered a thumping victory winning by over 10,000 votes in 2017.

BJP’s Thokchom Radheshyam Singh will look to defend his Heirok assembly seat.  Radheshyam is contesting against Congress’ Moirangthem Okendra and NPP’s N Diten Singh. Former Manipur education minister Radheshyam had defeated Moirangthem Okendra by around 2000 votes in 2017.

Letpao Haokip, who joined BJP from the NPP just ahead of elections, will contest from the Tengnoupal Assembly seat this time. Haokip had won from the Chandel seat in 2017.

Congress’ K Meghachandra Singh will look to retain the Wangkhem Assembly seat as he takes on Y Nabachandra Singh of the BJP. Nabachandra Singh was the runners up in 2017 losing by over 2500 votes while contesting from Northeast India Development Party.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

First Published: 4th March, 2022 21:37 IST



3 round of talks between ATSUM & HAC remains inconclusive

Despite 3 rounds of talks between the All Tribal Students Union Manipur and the Hill Areas Committee over the ADC Bill, 2021 and the arrest of 5 ATSUM leaders, efforts remained futile as the two sides failed to come to an agreement. (Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

08th August 2022
ATSUM – Hill Areas Committee member’s talks remain inconclusive

Paul Karang informed Northeast Live that the talks had failed to yield any result and that more discussions may follow in the following days.

08th August 2022
Rousing reception accorded to Mirabai Chanu, Bindyarani Devi in Manipur

Hundreds thronged the airport to congratulate the weightlifters, as their families waited to adorn them with garlands.

07th August 2022
ATSUM clarifies on imposition of total shutdown

ATSUM has clarified their positions on the imposition of the last total shutdown in the hill districts, as a protest against the failure of the state Government to implement what was agreed upon. (Visited 11 times, 6 visits today)

07th August 2022
Manipur Govt suspends internet services to curb communal tension

With escalating communal tensions triggered by vehicle arson and circulation of hate speeches and videos on social media, the government of Manipur has suspended internet services in the entire state for the next five days. (Visited 8 times, 2 visits today)

07th August 2022