Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Tripura: Leaders of different political parties jump ship to Congress

Baptu Chakraborty said he decided to quit the Mamata Banerjee-led party as it was working in the interests of the BJP.

The Trinamool Congress unit in Tripura suffered a major setback with a section of its workers led by senior TMC leader Baptu Chakraborty quitting the party and joining the Congress on Sunday. The development came just months ahead of the next Assembly polls in the state.

Speaking to Northeast Live in Agartala, Baptu Chakraborty, who joined the TMC in September last year, said he decided to quit the Mamata Banerjee-led party as it was working in the interests of the BJP.

Explaining his decision to return to the Congress, Chakraborty said the party led by Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi was the largest platform opposing the BJP.

He added that he has joined Congress with the goal of removing the BJP from power in the state in 2023.

Meanwhile, the All India Congress Committee leader and in-charge of Tripura Szarita Laitphlang said over 2,517 people from different parties, including the TMC, the CPI(M), and the BJP, joined the Congress on Sunday. Laitphlang further said Congress was the only force capable of putting up a tough fight against the BJP in Tripura.

Senior Congress leaders including former minister Sudip Roy Barman, former MLAs Ashish Kumar Saha and Gopal Chandra Roy, among others, participated in the worker joining program held on the occasion of the birth anniversary of Late Sachindra Lal Singh, the first chief minister of Tripura, at Rajiv Bhawan in Agartala.

(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)

First Published: 8th August, 2022 12:58 IST



Tripura elections 2023: BJP confident of winning all 60 assembly seats

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Tripura has exuded confidence that the party will return to power by winning all the 60 seats in the coming 2023 assembly election. Speaking to the media on the sidelines of the Chintan Baithak in Agartala, BJP Tripura Chief Spokesman Subrata Chakraborty informed issues pertaining to the party’s organizational […]

25th September 2022
Tripura Politics: Nabendu Bhattacharjee takes dig on TIPRA Motha

Bhattacharjee said the party is only running on the sentiments of a section of people and does not have a definite ideology.

24th September 2022
BJP MLA Burba Mohan Tripura resigns, to join TIPRA Motha this eveing

Burba Mohan Tripura, Tripura BJP Vice President and MLA from Karbook constituency resigned from the party as well as the assembly membership ahead of Tripura assembly elections 2023. The MLA submitted his resignation letter to Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty today in the presence of TIPRA Motha Chief Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma. Speaking to the media, […]

23rd September 2022
Counting of Rajya Sabha bye-polls underway in Tripura

The seat fell vacant after Dr Manik Saha resigned in July following his appointment as Chief Minister of Tripura.

22nd September 2022
Bypolls to Tripura’s lone RS seat underway, CM, Ex-CM cast votes

The crucial by-elections to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Tripura is underway at the state assembly house. CM Dr. Manik Saha and former CM Biplab Kumar Deb (Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

22nd September 2022