Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Former NPF MLA Yankithung Yanthan joins BJP, extends support to Y Patton and party

First Published: 12th January, 2023 19:20 IST

Yanthan along with his supporters officially declared their support to Y Patton in a programme held at Y Patton’s residence in Wokha

Reported by Sarah Konyak

In a big boost to the BJP in Nagaland ahead of the assembly elections in 2023, former Naga Peoples Front (NPF) MLA and intending candidate from Tyui Assembly Constituency, Yankithung Yanthan today joined the party and extended his support to Deputy Chief Minister of Nagaland and BJP leader Yanthung Patton win in this upcoming election.

Yanthan along with his supporters officially declared their support to Y Patton in a programme held at Y Patton’s residence in Wokha.

In his brief speech, Yankithung Yanthan stated that he is confident, and that his decision to join the BJP was made in consultation with his supporters and was not made for his personal benefit but rather for the welfare of his community and to make Tyui assembly constituencythe best.

“I have joined BJP and Y Patton to help him win in this upcoming election,” Yanthan added.

Yanthan also lauded Y Patton for his good deeds for the people stating that development is visible in and around Wokha district. Furthermore, he appealed to everyone to extend support and work as a team to support Y Patton in this election.

Yanthung Patton expressed his gratitude to Yankithung Yanthan for extending his support to bring better changes to the Lotha community.

Y Patton stated that beginning today, his supporters and Yankithung Yanthan’s supporters, who collectively number more than 20,000, would be counted as one.

“Together as one, we will work together and go forward for the success of achievement and bring better changes in the lives of the people,” Patton added.

Since 2008, Yankithung Yanthan has been contesting against Y Patton from the 37 Tyui assembly constituency and Yanthen was seen as his strongest opponent.

In the last 2018 general elections, Yanthan contested on a Naga People’s Front (NPF) ticket and secured 8422 votes, whereas Patton secured 11,298 votes. There are 21 villages under 37 Tyui assembly constituency.

Yanthan had won the 2003 elections from the Tyui constituency.

Copy edited by Lipika Roy

Also Read: ECI to visit Nagaland from Jan 13-15 to review poll preparedness



NPF facing shortage of candidates, to contest only 30-35 of 60 seats: Legislature party leader Azo Nienu

Nienu told Northeast Live that NPF, compared to NDPP and BJP is facing resource constraint which is why people are not interested in taking NPF tickets.

27th January 2023
President and Police medals to three Nagaland cops for distinguished service

47 fire service personnel were awarded Fire Service Medals for their service in saving lives

26th January 2023
Nagaland CM Rio sticks to 40:20 seat sharing between NDPP-BJP, NDPP candidate list to be out soon

Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio backs 40:20 seat sharing ration between NDPP & BJP. Rio says there is no issue regarding this

26th January 2023
Nagaland Polls: BJP foot soldiers ‘unhappy with seat sharing,’ protests in Kohima, Mon, Zunheboto

The agitated BJP workers demanded that the seat sharing ratio be revised and a new ratio of 30:30 be set up.

24th January 2023
Congress demands Nagaland CM’s resignation over graft charges

With just over a month left for the state assembly polls, the Congress has accused the Neiphiu Rio-led Nagaland coalition government of siphoning public money, and demanded the chief minister’s resignation on moral grounds following a probe of his allies.“CM Rio should’ve resigned on moral grounds as his govt siphons public money while CM Rio […]

24th January 2023