Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

New Nagaland Municipal Bill: Select Committee likely to scrap reservation for woman chairperson

First Published: 2nd November, 2023 21:42 IST

Nagaland Governor La Ganesan has summoned an emergent Assembly session on November 9 in all likelihood to discuss the new Nagaland Municipal Bill

The seven member Select Committee of Nagaland Municipal Bill 2023, led by its convenor Deputy Chief Minister T.R Zeliang, the Urban development department and the Chief Secretary of Nagaland J. Alam held its first meeting on Thursday in Chumukedima to review the new Nagaland Municipal Bill which was tabled on September 12 this year during the second session of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Sources privy to the meeting informed that the committee had the intention to remove the provision of reservation for a woman chairperson from the new municipal Bill while retaining 33% women reservation.

The committee discussed addition and omission of some clauses in the new Bill. Although, a final decision was not taken in today’s meeting, it is learnt that the committee will have another round of sitting on November 7 at Kohima.
Some members present in the meeting also suggested that the nominated members should be indigenous inhabitants of Nagaland while reserving certain seat for the general quota, the source informed.

Zeliang speaking to a section of reporters after the meeting indicated that the committee will seek opinions of the Civil Society Organizations and Tribal Hohos, however sources said it is still uncertain whether a consultative meeting will be held.

In a notification issued this evening the Governor of Nagaland, La. Ganesan has summoned the Third Session (Emergent Session) of the Fourteenth Nagaland Legislative Assembly to meet at 9:30 A.M on Thursday November 9. The emergent session is being called in all likelihood for consideration and passage of the New Nagaland Municipal Bill 2023.

The committee meeting comes ahead of the next hearing of the matter in the Supreme Court on November 10.

The Nagaland Assembly, during its second session of the 14th session had constituted a seven-member Select Committee, with Deputy Chief Minister TR Zeliang as the convenor. The other committee members include Minister KG Kenye, Minister P Paiwang Konyak, Minister Jacob Zhimomi, Minister Metsubo Jamir, Advisors Mhathung Yanthan and Zhaleo Rio, with the NLA Secretary-In-Charge serving as the Member Secretary.

Also Read: Nagaland civil secretariat introduce uniforms for MTS and peons



Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) welcomes govt decision to hold ULB polls

Speaking exclusively to Northeast Live, NSF vice-president Mteisuiding Heraang sharing his thoughts said that the civic polls will go a long way in making sure that development takes place right from the grassroot level.

27th May 2024
Nagaland: 2 ex-Axis Bank employees arrested for embezzling Rs 14.62 lakh in Wokha

On inquiry, it was ascertained that the duo involved in embezzling bank money without the knowledge of their authority, Soriso said.

27th May 2024
Nagaland ULB polls: Lack of parking space, water scarcity key issues in Kohima

Northeast Live spoke to some people in Kohima who shared some of the issues they wish the elected representatives should address.

25th May 2024
Nagaland ULB Polls on Jun 26: So far 8 women announce candidature

Of the 418 wards in the Municipality and Town Councils, 142 will be reserved for women.

24th May 2024
‘I have a soft corner for Northeast’: AR Rahman at Cannes

Rahman feels that the region has not yet been portrayed and involved properly in movies

23rd May 2024