Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Mizoram Polls 2023: Voting dates, polling stations and other important facts and figures here

First Published: 20th October, 2023 15:37 IST

Fate of high profile leaders including Chief Minister Zoramthanga, ZPM chief Lalduhoma among others will be sealed in the single phase election

With battlelines drawn for the Mizoram assembly elections, over 8 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise to elect a new government. The state has the highest number of female voters-4,38,925 out of a total of 8,51, 895 voters, while the number of male voters are 4,12,969. There are 4973 service voters.
Aizawl district has the highest number of voters- 2,86,807, the lowest number of voters-16,924 is in Hnahthial district. In terms of constituency, Tuichawng in Lawngtlai district has the highest number of voters-36,042. On the other hand, Thorang constituency in Lunglei district has the lowest number of voters- 14,909.
There are a total of 5,0611 young voters in the age group of 18-19 years, the number of voters in the senior citizen category (80+yrs) is 8490.
A total of 3243 Persons With Disability (PWD) voters are also expected to cast their votes.
Voting will be carried out in 1276 polling stations.
Among the high profile candidates who would be in the fray include Chief Minister and MNF chief Zoramthanga, ZPM chief Lalduhoma, former Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo, former minister in the Zoramthanga cabinet K Beichhua among others.
Chief Minister Zoramthanga will be contesting from the Aizawl East-1 constituency. The Mizoram Chief Minister is likely to have a direct contest with Lalthansanga of the MNF.
Lalduhoma, who is being pitched as the CM candidate from the Zoram People’s Movement, is contesting from his home turf Serchhip.
Lalrinliana Sailo, a former MNF MLA who recently resigned as Mizoram Assembly Speaker and joined the BJP, will fight the polls from Mamit constituency. Former minister K Beichhua, who also quit the MNF to join the BJP, will contest the polls from his home constituency Siaha.
The ruling MNF is contesting in all the 40 seats, while the Opposition ZPM is also contesting in all the seats. The Congress has fielded candidates in 39 seats, while BJP candidates would be in fray from 21 seats.
Polling for all the 40 seats would be held on November 7 and the counting of votes will take place on December 3.



Shopkeeper shot after brawl in Aizawl, accused arrested

Lalnunsanga was arrested and the locally made 0.22 Pistol, loaded with two live ammunition was seized from his possession.

12th June 2024
Mission Olympics 2036 in India: Mizoram govt organises 2-day Sports Conclave on June 13-14

The Centre has sanctioned Rs 68.80 lakh to upgrade sports infrastructure and help sportspersons of Mizoram and NE

08th June 2024
Mizoram: 4 women candidates file nominations for bye-polls to AMC ward-19 on June 25

Bye-poll to ward-19 was necessitated after its previous Corporator, Baryl Vanneihsangi, was elected as MLA for the Aizawl South III constituency

07th June 2024
Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results tomorrow: Mizoram fully prepared for counting day

There will be 10 counting Centres in Aizawl all in the near vicinity of the strong rooms, with three-tier security systems.

03rd June 2024
Mizoram Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 tomorrow

A total of 6 candidates are in the fray  

01st June 2024