Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Assam: Congress, TMC leaders join BJP

First Published: 11th November, 2023 14:32 IST

A number of prominent leaders of the Congress and Trinamool Congress (TMC) today joined the BJP in Assam

A number of prominent leaders of the Congress and Trinamool Congress (TMC) today joined the BJP in Assam. Among those who newly swore allegiance to the BJP were Suresh Bora, Paritosh Roy, and Dilip Kumar Sharma respectively.

In a ceremonial entry event held at the BJP office in Guwahati, the leaders of the party were welcomed into the BJP by state president Bhabesh Kalita, to slogans of “Bharat Mata ki Jai”, “Vande Mataram” and “Narendra Modi Zindabad”.

The welcoming ceremony was also attended by Assam Cabinet Minister Pijush Hazarika, Assam Education Minister Ranoj Pegu and other party members.

Suresh Bora, the former president of the Nagaon District Congress Committee who contested the assembly election from Barhampur assembly constituency in 2021, resigned from the party.

On the other hand, former Assam Pradesh Youth Congress Working President Poritush Roy has officially tendered his resignation from the party and officially joined the BJP.

While, Dilip Kumar Sharma, who held the media responsibility for the Assam Trinamool Congress, arrived at the residence of Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Saturday morning and made it clear that he has joined hands with the saffron party.

This quitting of senior leaders from the Congress and TMC is being seen as a major blow to the opposition’s INDIA alliance in the state of Assam ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Earlier, Congress leaders Suresh Bora and Paritosh Roy had announced their decision to quit the grand-old party over ‘family centric politics’.



Assam HSLC 2024 Results: Sevak Kharka from Baksa district scores highest marks in Nepali MIL

Candidates can view their results on, and other websites.

20th April 2024
Poll officer spot dead in road accident in Assam’s Lakhimpur

The deceased has been identified as Rajiv Lekharu, who was a professor at Bihpuria College in Lakhimpur district.

20th April 2024
Assam HSLC Exams 2024 Results Out: Pass percentage at 75.7%. Check toppers’ list here

A total of 4, 19, 78 students appeared in HSLC 2024

20th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Naba Kumar Sarania files nomination for Kokrajhar seat despite HC order

Despite the Gauhati High Court's ruling on Thursday, which declared Naba Kumar Sarania's Scheduled Tribe- Plains certificate invalid, he filed his nominations on Friday.

19th April 2024
Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BPF candidate for Kokrajhar Kampa Borgoyary files his nomination

The Bodoland people’s front (BPF) organised a massive public rally from Kampa Borgoyary’s residence to Kokrajhar DC office before filling the nomination papers.

19th April 2024