Two newly elected legislators were sworn in as members of the Nagaland Assembly on Wednesday.

State Legislative Assembly speaker Sharingain Longkumer administered the oath of secrecy to Medo Yhokha of the ruling NDPP and T Yangseo Sangtam who won the recent bypoll as an Independent candidate.

Medo Yhokha was elected from 14 Southern Angami 1 Assembly constituency in Kohima district and T Yangseo Sangtam was elected from 60 Pungro-Kiphire seat in Kiphire district.

Following the oath-taking ceremony, T Yangseo Sangtam informed that he and his supporters have decided to extend their support to the ruling PDA government.

Yangseo said that being a state BJP executive member, the BJP party is also in touch with him. He, however, refused to comment when asked about his expectation on the portfolio.