Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lok Sabha polls: Over 13 lakh voters to exercise franchise for lone parliamentary seat in Nagaland tomorrow

First Published: 18th April, 2024 17:17 IST

3 candidates are in fray for the Nagaland Lok Sabha seat.

A total of 13 lakh, 17 thousand, 536 eligible electors in Nagaland will decide the fate of three candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha elections to be held tomorrow.

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) has fielded Dr Chumben Murry, who is also the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate, while Congress has fielded Nagaland Congress President S Supongmeren Jamir. Hayithung Tungoe Lotha is an Independent candidate contesting the parliamentary elections.

NDPP dropped its sitting Lok Sabha MP Tokheho Yepthomi and fielded Chumben Murry.
A total of 2,342 polling stations have been set up for the smooth conduct of the elections. About 513 polling stations will be exclusively manned by women.


NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi won the Lok Sabha elections in 2019. He polled 5,00,510.
Congress’s K. L. Chishi polled 4,84,166 votes and NPP’s Hayithung Tüngoe polled 14,997 votes.

Also Read: 20,000 personnel deployed in Nagaland ahead of Lok Sabha polls: DGP Nagaland



NSCN-IM chief T Muivah, Naga civil society leaders discuss genesis of Naga problem

NSCN-IM Vice Chairman Tongmeth Wangnao said that during the initial stages of talks itself with the Government of India, NSCN-IM’s chief negotiator, T. Muivah had highlighted the significance of the Nagas declaring so-called independence to stake their claim as a distinct entity

16th May 2024
Rio govt forms PAC to facilitate amicable solution of the Naga political issue

The decision to form the PAC was taken at a high-level meeting chaired by Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio on May 9.

13th May 2024
World’s tallest Rhododendron in Nagaland impresses billionarie Anand Mahindra

The 109-feet tall Rhododendron in Nagaland holds the Guiness World Record for being the tallest Rhododendron

11th May 2024
6 from Northeast conferred Padma Shri award for 2024

Nagaland's Sano Vamuzo and Meghalaya's Dr. Sangthankima were conferred the Padma Shri for their distinguished service in the field of social work.

10th May 2024
Civic body polls in Nagaland after 20 years, ENPO to abstain

The date for filing of nominations for the ULB polls is June 7th to 11th while the list of contesting candidates and list of polling stations will be posted on 20th June.

09th May 2024