Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam has emerged victorious in the 60 Pungro Kiphire Assembly Constituency in Nagaland, with a margin of 1,416 votes. The trailing candidate is S Kiusumew Yimchunger.

Meanwhile, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Medo Yhokha is leading in the third round of counting by 211 votes in Southern Angami-I AC.

The by-elections were necessitated in Southern Angami-I and Pungro-Khipre seats on November 3 after the death of sitting legislators Vikho-o Yhoshu and T Torechu respectively.

Counting of votes in the by-elections to two assembly constituencies in Nagaland began as per schedule at 8 am on Tuesday amidst tight security and following all COVID-19 regulations.