The Village and Local Council Elections will be held in Mizoram on August 27, the Mizoram State Election Commission announced in Aizawl on Wednesday. The elections are being held after 5 years.

The elections to 558 village councils, barring three Autonomous District Council (ADC) areas in two districts and 83 local councils in Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC) area will be held on the same day, State Election Commissioner Laima Chozah said.

Elections in Lawngtlai and Saiha districts are administrated by the autonomous district councils under the framework of the Sixth Schedule.

Chozah said election to the village councils would be held in nine(9) of the eleven(11) districts – Aizawl, Lunglei, Serchhip, Champhai, Mamit, Kolosib, Khawzawl, Hnahthial and Saitual – and in 83 local councils in Aizawl the same day.

The nine districts will have 558 polling station, 702 polling booths and altogether 4,54,180 voters. There are 1,831 General seats in the Village Council Election and 633 reserved for Women Candidate. The total number of seats for the upcoming Village Council Election is 2,464 seats.

In Aizawl municipality’s 83 local councils, State Election Commission has set up 266 polling booth, the total electorate will be 2,18,575 in which female voters outnumbered male voters by 15,316.

There are 397 general seats in the Aizawl Munipality Local Council and 148 reserved for women candidate. The total number of seats in the Aizawl Municipality Local Council is 545 seats.

Election Commissioner Laima Chozah said that candidates can file nomination from today onwards and the last date for filing nomination is 21st August, 2020. He also added that scrutiny will be held on the same day after 3 PM. The last date for withdrawal of candidate is 13th August, 2020, he added.

He also said that the election will be held on August 27 during 7 AM to 5 AM. Counting of votes also will be held on the same day, he added.

He also said the model code of conduct for the polls has been enforced from today onwards.

State Election Commission Secretary Teresy Vanlalhruaii also said that due to the pandemic, the government has issued a guidelines to be followed which will observed in the upcoming elections. She also said that critical polling stations will be submitted by the SP’s in each of the districts.

Teresy Vanlalhruaii also said that Ballot paper will be used for the upcoming Local Council and Village Council election.

She also said that there are still some of the Bru voters who are still enrolled in the Electoral roll. She added that the rules of the Village Council & Local Council prescribed is to be followed the latest roll published for the MLA election, she further added that Bru voters are still on the list because they followed the latest roll published for the MLA election.