The Congress has declared its candidates for five Lok Sabha seats in Assam that go to poll in the first phase of the elections.

The first list of candidates include names of Swarup Das for the Karimganj seat, Sushmita Deb for the Silchar seat, Gaurav Gogoi for Kaliabor seat, Sushanta Borgohain for the Jorhat seat and Paban Singh Ghatowar for the Dibrugarh seat.

The names were finalised after a 3-hour long high-level meeting at UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi’s residence in New Delhi yesterday.

As per sources, the names of candidates for the remaining 9 seats will be declared in a day or two.

Meanwhile, the ticket battle inside the Congress party between former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and APCC president Ripun Bora is finally over with Bora’s choice Sushanta Borgohain being declared the candidate for the Jorhat seat.

It may be mentioned here that former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi wanted former Union Minister Vijaykrishna Handique’s daughter Gayatri Handique to contest from the same seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.