Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Union Ministers Sarbananda Sonowal, Kiren Rijiju file nominations for LS Polls 2024

First Published: 26th March, 2024 13:44 IST

Sonowal filed his nomination in Dibrugarh, Rijiju filed his papers in Aalo in Arunachal. Sonowal is contesting for the Dibrugarh seat, Rijiju is contesting for the Arunachal West set for

Union ministers Sarbananda Sonowal from Assam and Kiren Rijiju from Arunachal Pradesh have filed their nomination papers today.
Union Minister for Ports, Shipping and Waterways and Ayush, Sarbananda Sonowal filed his papers in Dibrugarh a little after 12 PM today in Dibrugarh. He is contesting for the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat.
Sonowal is a sitting Rajya Sabha MP, a two-time Lok Sabha MP from Lakhimpur (2014-16) and Dibrugarh (2004-09) and a 3-time MLA from Moran (2001-04) and Majuli (2016 & 2021). He is the former CM of Assam (2016-2021).
Between 2014-16 he served as the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports. He became the Chief Minister of Assam in 2016 and served in that capacity till 2021.
After the Assam Assembly elections in 2021, Himanta Biswa Sarma was named as the Assam CM and Sonowal was made a Rajya Sabha MP. He was given the portfolios of Ports, Shipping and Waterways and Ayush in the Narendra Modi Cabinet.
Sonowal, a former student leader, was President of AASU, Assam’s apex student body from 1992 to 1999. He joined the Asom Gana Parishad in 2000 and won the Moran Assembly seat in 2001 as AGP candidate.
He joined BJP in 2011 and was made the Assam BJP President in 2012.

Kiren Rijiju is a 3-time MP from Arunachal West seat. He won the seat in 2004-09, 2014-19 and 2019-23.
In 2014, Rijiju was inducted into the Narendra Modi Cabinet as Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs.
In 2019, he was made the Minister of State (Independent Charge) Youth Affairs.
In 2021, he was made the Cabinet Minister for Law and Justice and later he was moved to Union Minister of Earth Sciences.

Also Read: Need voting arrangements for Kuki Zomi Hmar voters across India: Kuki Zomi Hmar MLAs to ECI



One killed in pre-poll violence in West Kameng district

The BJP has demanded cancellation of the candidature of the independent candidate whose supporters are said to be involved in the clash that led to the death of a BJP supporter

13th April 2024
Arunachal BJP leader Ninong Ering injured in road accident in Sille village of East Siang district

Ering sustained minor injuries on his head and hand and has been promptly taken to the hospital for medical attention.

13th April 2024
Battle for Arunachal West LS seat: Will speak against social, economic and political injustice, affirms Nabam Tuki

Former Arunachal CM Naban Tuki is the Congress candidate for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency

12th April 2024
Ladakh MP Jamyang T Namgyal in Arunachal, lauds PM Modi’s vision to develop Gelling as First Village

Ladakh BJP MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, who is in the frontier state to drum up support for BJP candidates ahead of the Assembly and parliamentary elections in the state, also had the oppurtunity to travel to Gelling.

12th April 2024