Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Sikkim Assembly Polls 2024: SDF announces 6 names, Pawan Chamling to contest from Namchi-Singhithang

First Published: 11th March, 2024 13:38 IST

The first list includes former MLAs, former Power Minister and a former Rajya Sabha MP. Bhaichung Bhutia’s name is expected to be announced later today

The Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) on Monday announced its first list of 6 candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls.

Five-time former Chief Minister, 8-time MLA and SDF President Pawan Chamling would be contesting from Namchi-Singhithang the 8th time. He is the sitting MLA of Namchi-Singhithang, his home constituency. He has been winning the seat since 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2009, 2014 and 2019.

In 2009, Chamling had contested from Poklok-Kamrang and Namchi-Singhithang and won both the seats.

In 2014, Chamling contested from Namchi-Singhithang and Rangang-Yangang and won both the seats.
In 2019, Chamling again contested from Namchi-Singhithang and Poklok-Kamrang and won both the seats.

The other candidates are:

Norzang Lepcha to contest from Tunim Lingee. He is former MLA from Rakdong Tintek (East Sikkim) seat. In 2016, he was accused of misusing government funds to the tune of Rs one crore.

Hissey Lachungpa to contest from Lachen Mangan. He is former Minister and was Rajya Sabha MP from February 2012 to February 2024.

Gnawong Chopel Lepcha has been fielded from Kabi Lungchok. Ashis Rai would be contesting from Arithang. Sikkim’s former Power Minister and former Deputy Speaker of Sikkim Assembly, Sonam Gyasto Lepcha has been fielded from Dzongu.

SDF is looking at ousting PS Tamang-led SKM government and Pawan Chamling is hoping to become the CM for a 6th time beating all records.



Former power Minister MN Sherpa sworn in as Speaker, Raj Kumari Thapa as Dy Speaker of Sikkim Legislative Assembly

Raj Kumari Thapa became the first woman to hold the position of Deputy Speaker in the Sikkim Legislative Assembly

12th June 2024
Former power Minister MN Sherpa to be sworn-in as Speaker, Raj Kumari Thapa as Deputy Speaker of Sikkim Legislative Assembly today

Notably, Raj Kumari Thapa will become the first female Deputy Speaker from Sikkim. She is a former SDF MLA.

12th June 2024
Within 24 hours of Tamang Govt swearing in, Oppn SDF leaders including Bhaichung Bhutia’s property vandalised

Several residences, business establishments and vehicles of supporters and party candidates of the SDF Party were pelted with stones and vandalized late last night.

11th June 2024
Flash Floods in Sikkim Day 2: NH10 blocked in Singtam, several other roads blocked due to landslides

The Ranikhola river is in full spat flowing close to the danger level.

11th June 2024
PS Tamang Cabinet’s first decision: To announce ex-gratia for flood victims, DA/DR hiked by 4%

The ex-gratia amount which would be announced soon, would be as per the State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF) norms, officials said.

11th June 2024