Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Ninong Ering, Mutchu Mithi, 2 others join BJP

First Published: 25th February, 2024 16:56 IST

Wangling Lowangdong and Ninong Ering of the Congress, Gokar Basar and Mutchu Mithi of the NPP joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister Pema Khandu at the BJP

In a major boost to the ruling BJP, senior Congress leader and MLA Ninong Ering, NPP MLA and son of former Arunachal Pradesh CM Mukut Mithi, Mutchu Mithi, and two other MLAs from Congress and NPP joined the BJP in Arunachal Pradesh today.

Wangling Lowangdong of the Congress and Gokar Basar of the NPP are the two other sitting MLAs who joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister Pema Khandu at the BJP office in Itanagar.

Speaking to Northeast Live, CM Pema Khandu said that four MLAs joined the BJP party based on performance politics, and several prominent leaders joined the party within two months as well. This is proof that our state saw tremendous growth under Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s direction, who has given utmost importance to the region.

“As the BJP house is large, anyone welcome to our house. And Right now, I don’t see any competitors for the BJP party”, he added.

“I am glad that many individuals supported the Viksit Arunachal Pradesh as they eager to join this journey”, he added.

The move is significant since Arunachal Pradesh will have simultaneous polls for the Lok Sabha and the state assembly within the next couple of months.

Notably there were 10-non BJP MLAs in the 60-member Arunachal Assembly of which 4 were with the congress, another 4 NPP and 2 independents. Now with the latest development there are only 6 non BJP MLAs left.

Mutchu Mithi was elected from Roing seat in the 2014 and 2019 Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly election.

Ninong Ering is former Lok Sabha MP from the Arunachal East (from 2009 to 2019). He was the Union Minister of State for Minority Affairs from 2012 to 2014.

Ering was a member of the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly representing Pasighat East constituency as an independent candidate from 1990 to 1995. In 1995, he again contested from the same constituency as an independent candidate, but he was defeated by the Congress candidate Tobar Jamoh.

From 1999 to 2004 he again became a member of the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly representing the same constituency as a Congress candidate. From 1999 to 2002, he was the Minister of State of the Government of Arunachal Pradesh and from 2002 to 2004, he was the Deputy Speaker of the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Wanglin Lowangdong is the Congress MLA from Borduria-Bogapani. He won the seat in 2019.

Also Watch



Polling in certain polling stations of Arunachal concluded this morning

The voter turnout for the parliamentary seats was recorded at 72.74% and for the Assembly seats stood at 76.44% as per initial estimates

20th April 2024
Voting underway in Arunachal: 133 candidates in fray for 50 Assembly seats and 14 candidates for 2 LS seats

8 Lakh 88 thousand 816 voters out of which 4,33,760 are male voters and 4,49,050 female voters will decide the fate of the total 147 candidates in fray.

19th April 2024
Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

19th April 2024
Arunachal Elections 2024: Over 8.8 lakh voters to exercise franchise for Assembly and Lok Sabha polls tomorrow

There will be 2,226 polling stations spread over the entire state.

18th April 2024
Arunachal Pradesh: CEO reports 100% arm license deposit and stringent security measures

Sain expressed gratitude to the people of Arunachal Pradesh for their support in conducting a free, fair, and peaceful election

17th April 2024