Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

NIA re-arrests Moirangthem Anand Singh in Manipur transnational conspiracy case

First Published: 24th September, 2023 15:00 IST

The accused was brought to New Delhi after his arrest and produced before the Jurisdictional Court.

The National Investigation Agency (NIA) re-arrested Moirangthem Anand Singh in a case related to a transnational conspiracy by Myanmar based leadership of terror outfits to wage a war against the Government of India by exploiting the current ethnic unrest in the State of Manipur.

NIA has released a statement clarifying on the re-arrest of Moirangthem Anand Singh who was initially arrested with 4 others in Imphal for processing arms. With the other 4 were released, Moirangthem was re-arrested by the NIA.

The NIA stated that insurgent leaders based in Myanmar are recruiting over ground workers, caders and sympathisers to carry out attacks on security forces and opposing etnic groups by exploiting the current unrest in the state, for which the groups are collecting arms and ammunition.

The accused was brought to New Delhi after his arrest and produced before the Jurisdictional Court on Saturday.

Notably, Moirangthem Anand Singh was arrested 6 times in the past and as per police reports he was trained as a PLA cadre.



Manipur LS Polls: Nagaland CM Rio and DY CM Zeliang sprearhead campaign for NPF’s Outer Manipur candidate Timothy Zimik

BJP did not field a candidate for Outer Manipur and extended support to Zimik.

20th April 2024
Manipur LS Polls: 3 arrested in firing incident at Manipur polling station

The arrested miscreants have been identified as Leichombam Jemson Singh (34 yrs), Nongthombam Ratan (47 yrs) and Khumukcham Angamba (32 yrs).

20th April 2024
Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

19th April 2024
Voting for Inner and Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seats tomorrow. 10 candidates in fray

The Inner Manipur seat will see BJP's Thounaojam Basanta Kr Singh contesting against Congress' Agomcha Bimol Akoijam and Maheshwar Thounaojam of RPI (A) and R K Somendro of MPP

18th April 2024
Polling personnel reach their destinations safely in Kangpokpi

The first phase of the dispersal of polling personnel commenced at Brig. M. Thomas Ground Kangpokpi town at 7:00 a.m

17th April 2024