Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Narendra Modi sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for second term; Amit Shah inducted in cabinet

First Published: 30th May, 2019 22:02 IST

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi on Thursday took the oath of office and secrecy at the grand swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Thursday evening. Along with PM

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi on Thursday took the oath of office and secrecy at the grand swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Thursday evening.

Along with PM Modi, the Union Council of Ministers also took the oath, which was administered by President Ram Nath Kovind. A total of 25 cabinet ministers and 24 Ministers of state and 9 with independent charge took oath.


A total of fifty-eight ministers, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi have been sworn-in, with Amit Shah making an entry into the Cabinet. Among other notable politicians sworn-in as part of the Cabinet are Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Sadananda Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani, Ravi Shankar Prasad and former foreign secretary S Jaishankar.

Kiren Rijiju took oath as a Minister in PM Modi’s Cabinet. Dibrugarh MP Rameswar Teli was also sworn-in as a Minister of State.

Among those who are not part of the Council are Sushma Swaraj, Suresh Prabhu, Jayant Sinha and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore.

Leaders of BIMSTEC group – Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan – have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony of PM Narendra Modi today. Along with them, India has also invited leaders of Mauritius and Kyrgyz Republic for the important occasion.

Here is the list of Ministers who took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan:

Cabinet Ministers
  1. Shri Narendra Modi
  2. Shri Raj Nath Singh
  3. Shri Amit Shah
  4. Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari
  5. Shri D. V. Sadananda Gowda
  6. Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman
  7. Shri Ramvilas Paswan
  8. Shri Narendra Singh Tomar
  9. Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad
  10. Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal
  11. Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot
  12. Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
  13. Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’
  14. Shri Arjun Munda
  15. Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani
  16. Dr. Harsh Vardhan
  17. Shri Prakash Javadekar
  18. Shri Piyush Goyal
  19. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan
  20. Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
  21. Shri Pralhad Joshi
  22. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey
  23. Shri Arvind Ganpat Sawant
  24. Shri Giriraj Singh
  25. Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
Ministers of State (Independent Charge)
  1. Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar
  2. Rao Inderjit Singh
  3. Shri Shripad Yesso Naik
  4. Dr. Jitendra Singh
  5. Shri Kiren Rijiju
  6. Shri Prahalad Singh Patel
  7. Shri Raj Kumar Singh
  8. Shri Hardeep Singh Puri
  9. Shri Mansukh L. Mandaviya
Ministers of State
  1. Shri Faggansingh Kulaste
  2. Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey
  3. Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal
  4. General (Retd.) V. K. Singh
  5. Shri Krishan Pal
  6. Shri Danve Raosaheb Dadarao
  7. Shri G. Kishan Reddy
  8. Shri Parshottam Rupala
  9. Shri Ramdas Athawale
  10. Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
  11. Shri Babul Supriyo
  12. Shri Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
  13. Shri Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
  14. Shri Anurag Singh Thakur
  15. Shri Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
  16. Shri Nityanand Rai
  17. Shri. Rattan Lal Kataria
  18. Shri V. Muraleedharan
  19. Smt. Renuka Singh Saruta
  20. Shri Som Parkash
  21. Shri Rameswar Teli
  22. Shri Pratap Chandra Sarangi
  23. Shri Kailash Choudhary
  24. Smt. Debasree Chaudhuri

Over 8,000 guests including VVIPs, attended the oath-taking ceremony of PM Modi and his council of Ministers held at the forecourt – the stately path between the main gates and the main building in the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, chief ministers of BJP and NDA-ruled States including Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and NEDA convener Himanta Biswa Sarma, newly-elected BJP MPs and other eminent personalities were also present in the swearing-in ceremony.



India set to host Miss World 2023, more deets inside

India will host the 71st edition of Miss World

08th June 2023
‘Adipurush’: Ranbir Kapoor to book 10,000 tickets of the Prabhas and Kriti Sanon starrer for the underprivileged children – See poster

After Abhishek Agarwal, Ranbir Kapoor will be booking 10,000 tickets of Om Raut's Prabhas and Kriti Sanon starrer 'Adipurush for the underprivileged children.

08th June 2023
Mumbai Man Kills Live-In Partner, Chops Up Body, Boils In Cooker: Police

The victim, identified as 32-year-old Saraswati Vaidya, was found in her apartment on the seventh floor of a residential building in Geeta Nagar area of Mira Road

08th June 2023
Goods train crush 6 labourers in Jajpur (Odisha) days after Balasore accident, probe begins

The deceased people were engaged by a contractor for railway work near the Jajpur-Keonjhar Road station

08th June 2023
OMCs likely to cut prices of petrol and diesel. Fuel prices to get cheaper?

The companies have almost recovered their losses and are nearing normalcy as evident by their positive quarterly results

08th June 2023