Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Nagaland: Disqualification petition against 7 NCP MLAs dismissed

First Published: 18th February, 2024 11:22 IST

The dismissal of the charges was based on Election Commission's ruling in favour of the Ajit Pawar faction on February 6

In a big sigh of relief for the 7 Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MLAs of Nagaland, the disqualification petition filed against them by their party has been dismissed by the Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly Sharingain Longkumer.

In September last year, the NCP led by Sharad Pawar had filed a petition seeking disqualification of party MLAs in Nagaland–Er Picto Shohe, P Longon, Namri Nchang, Y Mhonhemo Humtsoe, S Toiho Yeptho, Y Mankhao konyak and A Pongshi Phom for alleged anti-party activities.

It alleged that these MLAs sided with Ajit Pawar, who rebelled against party chief Sharad Pawar in July 2023 to join the Shiv Sena-BJP coalition in Maharashtra.

The Nagaland Legislative Assembly Sharingain Longkumer came out with the ruling on February 16. The dismissal of the charges was based on the Election Commission’s ruling in favour of the Ajit Pawar faction on February 6.

The Speaker said that as per the decision of the ECI, supporting the “legitimate leader of the Political Party of NCP” did not amount to anti-party activities or voluntarily giving up membership of the party.

As such, proceeding with the case will be “infructuous”, the speaker stated.

Also Read: Frontier Nagaland demand: ENLU holds crucial meet with CM Rio



Naga Issue: PAC to hold consultations with civil society and Naga nationalist groups after Lok Sabha polls

This was informed by Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio while he was addressing a rally in support of NDA Lok Sabha candidate Chumben Murry

13th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls- Nagaland: Cong had a policy of “Get The Votes, and Forget Them,” says JP Nadda

BJP national president JP Nadda today addressed an NDA election rally in Chumoukedima to drum up support for Lok Sabha candidate Chumben Murry.

13th April 2024
Nagaland: NDPP leader, former BJP member join Congress ahead of LS polls

Polling for the lone parliamentary constituency of Nagaland is scheduled to take place on April 19. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 4.

12th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls-Nagaland: CM Rio does not see a strong rival against Chumben Murry

In terms of Congress candidate S. Supongmeren Jamir, CM Rio said that the Nagaland Congress is contesting the elections only to save the face of the grand old party.

08th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls: God Factor in Nagaland, NBCC calls for 152-hour nonstop prayers ahead of polls

Will the God Factor be the key aspect for the upcoming Lok Sabha Election in the state of Nagaland? Though there is only one Lok Sabha seat in the state, the Nagaland Baptist Church Council (NBCC) has decided to go with the spirit of belief and faith on the Almighty, this election. The main motto […]

04th April 2024