Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel
Last Updated: 8th December, 2023 11:06 IST

Mizoram Election Results 2023: Only 3 of the 16 women candidates win

First Published: 4th December, 2023 19:18 IST

ZPM's Lalrinpuii has won from Lunglei East seat defeating Congress candidate Joseph Lalhimpuia by a margin of 1646 votes

Only three of the 16 women candidates who contested the Mizoram Assembly elections won the polls for the 9th Assembly.

MNF candidate Prova Chakma won from West Tuipui seat by a margin of 711 votes, BJP candidate Baryl Vanneihsangi won from Aizawl South-III with a margin of 1414 votes and ZPM’s Lalrinpuii won from Lunglei East by a margin of 1646 votes.

MNF candidate Chakma defeated Congress candidate Nihar Kanti Chakma, ZPM’s Kawlhnuna and BJP’s Lalengthanga.

BJP candidate Baryl Vanneihsangi defeated MNF candidate Lalnunmawia, Congress candidate Rosiamngheta and Independent candidate Dr. Zaichhawna Hlawndo.

ZPM’s Lalrinpuii defeated Congress candidate Joseph Lalhimpuia by a margin of 1646 votes.

Independent candidate Lalruatfeli Hlawndo who contested from Aizawl East-I seat lost to ZPM’s Lalthansanga by 10,286 votes.

In the race for Aizawl East-II seat, MNF candidate Lalawmpuii lost by 2756 votes, while Independent candidate Lalhmachhuani lost by 7073 votes against B. Lalchhanzova.

Independent candidate Lalruatfeli Hlawndo who contested from Aizawl North-I seat lost to ZPM’s Vanlalhlana by 10295 votes.

Independent candidate Lalrinpuii lost to ZPM’s Dr. Vanlalthlana by 10945 votes in Aizawl North-II seat. BJP candidate F. Lalremsangi lost to ZPM’s Lalsawivunga by 8890 votes in Aizawl South-I seat.

Independent candidate Lalhrilzeli Hlawndo lost to ZPM’s L. Zaithanzama by 9051 votes in Aizawl West-III seat.

Independent candidate Lalramdingngheti lost to MNF’s H. Lalzirliana by 7080 votes in Mamit seat.

Independent candidate Lalramdingngheti lost to MNF’s Lalrintluanga Sailo in Dampa seat.

BJP candidate Lalbiaktluangi lost to ZPM’s Lalhlimpuia by 4921 votes in Lunglei West seat.
BJP’s K Vanlalruati lost to ZPM’s Lalduhoma by 8217 votes from Serchhip seat.
Independent candidate Lalhmunsiami lost to ZPM’s W Chhuanawma by 6921 votes from Tuichang seat.
Independent candidate Lalrinmawii lost to ZPM’s P.C. Vanlalruata by 6971 votes from Tuikum seat.
Congress candidate Meriam L Hrangchal, who contested from Lungeli South seat has lost to ZPM’s Lalramliana Papuia by 2632 votes.

The ZPM has posted a thumping victory in Mizoram bagging 27 seats in the 40-member assembly defeating the ruling MNF. MNF managed 10 seats. The BJP has won two seats, while the Congress won just one.

Also Read : Mizoram Poll Results 2023: ZPM sweeps urban seats of Aizawl




8 pairs of twins in a Mizoram school leave teachers, classmates confused

There are 4 pairs of girls, 3 pairs of boys, and one fraternal pair.

14th May 2024
Fuel shortage to ease further in Mizoram and Tripura, 2nd oil freight train crosses Assam’s Dima Hasao

The fuel shortage prevailing in both the states owing to disruption in rail services due to the landslide in Assam's Dima Hasao is likely to ease further in a day or two.

12th May 2024
Fuel shortage in Mizoram: Govt’s strong warning to hoarders and black marketers

Fuel supply to Mizoram has been affected due to damage of rail tracks in the Lumding-Badarpur sector in Assam.

11th May 2024
6 from Northeast conferred Padma Shri award for 2024

Nagaland's Sano Vamuzo and Meghalaya's Dr. Sangthankima were conferred the Padma Shri for their distinguished service in the field of social work.

10th May 2024
Methamphetamine worth over Rs 6 cr seized in Mizoram, one arrested

The arrested person has been identified as Rohmingthanga (20), a resident of Zokhawthar village

07th May 2024