Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Meghalaya’s Chigitchakgre declared Bee Village

First Published: 28th November, 2023 16:14 IST

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma also announced Rs 10 lakh to the Bee village from Chief Minister’s Special Development Fund (CMSD)

Reported by Purbasha Bhattacharjee

Meghalaya Chief Minister, Conrad Sangma on Tuesday declared Chigitchakgre as Bee village under Apiculture Mission 2.0. The Mission is to help farmers in the state including bee farmers to grow their produce and earn a decent living.

Speaking at the event, Chief Minister, Conrad K Sangma, said that people of the state especially in the village take up different activities for livelihood and the government in the last few years has been supporting these activities through different mission programs. He informed that the objective of declaring the villages as Bee villages is a specific program under the Apiculture Mission to help bee farmers through assistance.

“We will be providing all help and support that is needed for bee farming like training, financial assistance, bee boxes, beekeeping tools, multi-facility building having stock rooms, training rooms and areas to sell and display the products,” said CM Sangma.

He also highlighted CM Elevate and YESS Meghalaya programs and urged the youth to benefit from these programs.

The Chief Minister announced Rs 10 lakh to the Bee village from the Chief Minister’s Special Development Fund (CMSD). He also interacted with the youth and the women folk of the village.

Deputy Commissioner, West Garo Hills and other senior officials from the district were present at the event.

Also Read : Shillong water crisis: More tough days ahead says Meghalaya Govt



Child marriage is rampant in Meghalaya: Minister Paul Lyngdoh

The programme was organised by Meghalaya State Commission for Protection of Child Rights.

29th February 2024
Meghalaya: SSLC, HSSLC exams to begin from March 1 and 4 respectively

Speaking about the arrangements, Rakkam A Sangma informed that there will be police officials, flying squad and supervising officers to ensure smooth conduct of examination.

29th February 2024
Meghalaya schools to have ‘bag-less’ days soon, school calendar 2025 to be notified this year

Therefore, the government has given a suggestive list of 10 themes for 'bagless days.'

27th February 2024
Meghalaya CM urges content creators to fact-check before uploading content

Sangma feels that doing so will go a long way in dealing with the menace of spreading fake news as well as information which is misleading in nature.

27th February 2024
Devastating fire gutted century-old Shillong Bar Association building in Meghalaya

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma has termed the incident unfortunate

25th February 2024