Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Meghalaya LS Polls: 22.26 lakh voters to decide the fate of 9 candidates in the fray for 2 seats

First Published: 18th April, 2024 19:27 IST

A total of 22.26 (22,26,567) lakh voters including 10.99 lakh male voters, 11.27 lakh female voters, 3 third gender voters to decide the fate of the 9 candidates in the

The stage is all set for the polling of the two Lok Sabha seats in the Northeastern state of Meghalaya scheduled to take place on April 19.

A total of 22.26 (22,26,567) lakh voters -10.99 lakh male voters, 11.27 lakh female voters, 3 third gender voters will decide the fate of the nine candidates in the fray for the two Lok Sabha seats – Shillong and Tura. While, the total number of first time voters stands at 31,247.

This is an increase of 51,331 voters from Assembly Elections 2023 and 3.15 lakh (3,15,195) more than the number of electors in Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

In Shillong, 17-Nongspung in 33-Rambrai Jyrngam has highest number of voters standing at 1,274 while 82-Kamsing in Amlarem and 56-Photeitsim in Ranikor of Shillong has least number of voters with 36 voters each.

12-Chandmary in North Tura has maximum number of voters totalling at 1,324 while 53-Narigre in Williamnagar in Tura has the least number of voters totalling at 85.

For the Shillong parliamentary seat, the Congress has fielded three times sitting MP from Shillong, Vincent Pala, while NPP has fielded five times MLA from East-Shillong seat Ampareen Lyndoh, who is Law, Health, Education, Urban Development, Labour, PWD & IPR minister in the Conrad Sangma led Meghalaya government. The Regional Democratic Alliance (RDA) has nominated former Hynniewtrep Youth Council (HYC) president Robertjune Kharjahrin. VPP has fielded its founding member and General Secretary, Dr. Ricky J Syngkon.

Along with this, Advocate Peter Shallam and Prof Lakhon Kma of NEHU are contesting the elections as Independent candidates.

2019 Results of Shillong seat
In 2019, Congress candidate Vincent H Pala won the seat with a total 4,19,689 votes and poll percentage of 48.35. United Democratic Party candidate Jemino Mawthoh secured total 2,67,256 votes with a poll percentage of 25.89. While Hill State People’s Democratic Party’s (HSPDP) P. B. M. Basaiawmoit polled 97,613 votes with a poll percentage of 20.32.

For the Tura seat, NPP has fielded the sitting MP of Tura, Agatha Sangma who is two times MP and has served as Union Minister of State for Rural Development. TMC has fielded three times Congress MLA and former Meghalaya Sports Minister, Zenith Sangma. Labenn Marak is contesting the elections as an Independent candidate.

2019 Results of Tura seat
In 2019, NPP’s Agatha Sangma won the Tura seat with a total of 3,04,455 votes and poll percentage of 52.22. She had defeated former Meghalaya Chief Minister and Congress candidate Dr Mukul Sangma secured 2,40,425 votes. Bharatiya Janata Party’s Rikman Garrey Momin polled 31,707 votes.

As many as 3,512 polling stations have been set up in the state with 88 polling stations to be managed by women only.

There are 50 non-motorable polling stations, 409 vulnerable polling stations and 29 critical polling station

Moreover, a total number of 187 polling stations are bordering Assam, 140 polling stations bordering Bangladesh and 36 polling stations are placed in areas of difference.

Polling parties will pass through Assam to reach 128 polling stations.



Meghalaya govt in talks with BCCI for setting up cricket stadium of international standards in Ri Bhoi

Meghalaya Sports Minister Shakliar Warjri informed that the state Government is in talks with BCCI in this regard

18th May 2024
Shillong Medical College to be operational by 2025, Tura medical college by 2026-27: Ampareen Lyndoh

Meghalaya Health Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh on Friday informed that the Shillong Medical College is likely to be made functional by September 2025 and the Tura Medical College by 2026-2027.Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma held a review meeting on Friday with officials from the Health Department, in the presence of Health Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh, to discuss […]

18th May 2024
Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma chairs key meet of DCs and SDOs in Shillong

“The conference is very crucial as the feedback we receive from DCs and SDOs is important for the public at large,” the Chief Minister said.

17th May 2024
Shillong: Hawkers express reservations over govt’s relocation plan from Police Bazaar

Survey of the hawkers have already begun for the relocation purpose. The Shillong Municipal Board is already on the job and expected to complete the rehabilitation process by the end of June.

17th May 2024
Scientific coal mining: Good news for people soon, Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma gives a clear hint

According to the Meghalaya Chief Minister, the toughest part of the entire process to allow scientific mining in the state is already over.

16th May 2024