Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Meghalaya Assembly 2023: UDP announces 1st list of 32 candidates. Check full list here

First Published: 6th December, 2022 17:20 IST

Second list will be published soon

The United Democratic Party (UDP) on Tuesday announced the names of 32 candidates to contest the 2023 Meghalaya Legislative Assembly elections.

Some of the prominent names are sitting MLAs and Cabinet ministers Kyrmen Shylla (Khliehriat), Lahkmen Rymbui (Amlarem), Brolding Nongsiej (Mawthadraishan), president of UDP and Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Metbah Lyngdoh ,Chief Executive Member of Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) Titos Chyne (Sohra), sitting MLA Balajied Synrem (Shella), sitting MLAs Pius Marwein (Ranikor), and Nujorki Sungoh (Mookaiaw).

The other prominent names are Dr Aman War (North Shillong), HDR Lyngdoh (Sohiong), Remington Pyngrope (Mawkynrew), Anthony Kongwang (Pynursla), Moonlight Pariat (Jowai).

Candidate Names List

The others who made it to the list are Dawan Lyngdoh (Nartiang), Baiahunlang Makdoh (Mawhati), Bathok Nongmalieh (Jirang), Sunshine Makri ( Umsning), Dr Osaphi Jyrwa (Mawryngkneng), Mitchell Wankhar (Mylliem), Olan Suin (Mawsynram), Polestar Nongsiej (Nongstoin), Paul Lyngdoh (West Shillong), Jemino Mawthoh (Nongthymmai).

Candidate Names List

From Garo Hills, Luderberg Ch. Momin (Kharkutta), Subroto G. Marak (Mendipathar), Tapash D. Marak (Resubelpara), Rakman Ch. Marak (Bajengdoba), Andreas G. Momin (Rongjeng), Ronald Rikman Sangma (Salmanpara), Kennethson R. Sangma (Dalu) and Ashahel D. Shira (Rajabala).

Candidate Names List

These were the candidates approved by the UDP state election committee. General secretary of the party Jemino Mawthoh said that the second list will be announced shortly.

Check the full list here:

  1. Kyrmen Shylla (Khliehriat)
  2. Lahkmen Rymbui (Amlarem)
  3. Brolding Nongsiej (Mawthadraishan)
  4. Metbah Lyngdoh
  5. Titos Chyne (Sohra)
  6. Balajied Synrem (Shella)
  7. Marwein (Ranikor)
  8. Nujorki Sungoh (Mookaiaw)
  9. Dr Aman War (North Shillong)
  10. HDR Lyngdoh (Sohiong)
  11. Remington Pyngrope (Mawkynrew)
  12. Anthony Kongwang (Pynursla)
  13. Moonlight Pariat (Jowai)
  14. Dawan Lyngdoh (Nartiang),
  15. Baiahunlang Makdoh (Mawhati),
  16. Bathok Nongmalieh (Jirang),
  17. Sunshine Makri ( Umsning),
  18. Dr Osaphi Jyrwa (Mawryngkneng),
  19. Mitchell Wankhar (Mylliem),
  20. Olan Suin (Mawsynram),
  21. Polestar Nongsiej (Nongstoin),
  22. Paul Lyngdoh (West Shillong),
  23. Jemino Mawthoh (Nongthymmai)
  24. Luderberg Ch. Momin (Kharkutta),
  25. Subroto G. Marak (Mendipathar),
  26. Tapash D. Marak (Resubelpara),
  27. Rakman Ch. Marak (Bajengdoba),
  28. Andreas G. Momin (Rongjeng),
  29. Ronald Rikman Sangma (Salmanpara),
  30. Kennethson R. Sangma (Dalu)
  31. Ashahel D. Shira (Rajabala)
  32. J Treilang Suchiang (Shangpung Constituency)



Pre-poll violence in Meghalaya: TMC workers allegedly attacked by NPP workers in Phulbari constituency of West Garo Hills

The NPP workers allegedly thrashed and barged into the meeting premises, creating a ruckus

08th February 2023
Meghalaya Polls: Mukul Sangma slams Conrad Sangma on border issue, terms it unacceptable

Mukul Sangma who filed his nomination for the Tikrikilla constituency, at first pointed out that the inter-state border issue with Assam is his party's primary bone of contention.

07th February 2023
Meghalaya Polls 2023: Mukul, James, Mawrie, Pyngrope, Shullai, Zenith, Hek, Mawthoh file nominations

Several key political leaders including Conrad Sangma’s brother and Meghalaya minister James Sangma, former CM Mukul Sangma filed their papers today

06th February 2023
Meghalaya CM & NPP president Conrad Sangma files nomination from South Tura, says there is a positive wave for NPP

“I see that NPP is heading towards getting absolute majority and we are confident that we will get”, said CM Sangma after filing nominations

04th February 2023
TMC will rid South Tura of ‘darkness’, says Richard M Marak

Richard Mrong Marak, took a jibe at the NPP over the party's comment against Mukul Sangma

04th February 2023