Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura celebrates 51st Statehood day

First Published: 21st January, 2023 12:42 IST

The three states were formed on this day 51 years ago, in 1972, with the enactment of the North-Eastern Areas Reorganization Act, 1971

Three northeastern states—Manipur, Meghalaya, and Tripura—are celebrating their 51st Statehood Day today.The three states were formed on this day 51 years ago, in 1972, with the enactment of the North-Eastern Areas Reorganization Act, 1971.

The foundation day of Tripura, Manipur, and Meghalaya are observed by people from each state with great enthusiasm and grandeur. People participate in different events to showcase their rich culture and traditions.

On this occasion, the NE Chief Ministers and Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended their wishes to the three states.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to wish Manipur on the special occasion.
PM Modi tweeted, “Statehood Day greetings to the people of Manipur. The state has been progressing on several counts during the last few years. I pray that the aspirations of the people of this state are fulfilled and Manipur keeps strengthening India’s growth trajectory.”

Wishing Tripura, a happy statehood day, the PM wrote, “On their statehood day, best wishes to the people of Tripura. The last 5 years have been remarkable for Tripura’s growth trajectory. From agriculture to industry, education to health, the state has seen great transformation. May this trend continue in the coming times.”

Wishing Meghalaya, PM wrote, “Greetings to the people of Meghalaya on their Statehood Day. This state is known for its vibrant culture, particularly music, art and passion towards sports. People from Meghalaya have excelled in diverse fields. I pray for Meghalaya’s continuous progress in the years to come.”

Manipur’s Chief Minister N Biren Singh also expressed his best wishes on the state’s 51st anniversary of independence.

“On the occasion of 51st Statehood Day, I take the opportunity to extend my heartiest greetings & best wishes to my dearest people. I urge the people to continue to maintain & foster peace, harmony & cooperation to strive for the best, progress & development of the state.” CM N Biren Singh tweeted.

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma also sends his greetings on the state’s 51st Meghalaya day.
“Wishing everyone a Happy 51st #MeghalayaDay! We stand committed to fulfill the dream of a best Meghalaya, honouring the vision of our leaders before us and we will continue in their footsteps to pave a new avenues of growth for the future of our state and its people.”

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha wishing the people of Tripura on their statehood day, wrote, “Heartiest greetings to all on this occasion of Statehood Day. Let’s all move ahead with the all-round development journey to build Atmanirbhar Tripura, Ek Tripura, Shrestha Tripura for a prosperous future.”

Assam’s Chief Minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma, penned down a beautiful wish for its neighbouring states on their 51st statehood day.

“Endowed with spectacular beauty, vibrant culture & rich traditions, our Sister States of Meghalaya, Manipur & Tripura today celebrate their 51st Statehood Day. My warm greetings to the people & pray for progress of the neighbouring States.” CM Sarma wrote.

The Nagaland Chief Minister also extended his greetings on the statehood day of its neighbouring states.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, sending statehood day greetings, wrote, “Sisters and brothers of Tripura, Manipur & Meghalaya are humble and hard working. On the #StatehoodDay of their states, I extend my warm greetings & best wishes. I’m confident they’ll continue giving their best to preserve their rich legacy & touching greater heights of glory.”

Also Read: 10 brave children from Northeast selected for National Bravery Awards



NF Railway achieved Sivok – Rangpo new rail link project breakthrough 2nd longest tunnel

The Sivok – Rangpo new rail link project connecting Sivok (West Bengal) and Rangpo (Sikkim) is about 45 kms long and is characterized by 14 nos. tunnels, 13 major bridges, 09 minor bridges and 5 nos. stations.

28th February 2024
Sikkim govt to regularize 25000 temporary jobs

More than 15,000 job appointments will also be distributed to the unemployed youths by Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang.

28th February 2024
SDF urges EC to impose President’s rule in Sikkim ahead of polls

He also urged the poll panel to directly ask the state administration to take stern action to ensure rule of law.

28th February 2024
Assam Congress working president Rana Goswami resigns

The Congress has been presented with back to back blows in the run up to the Lok Sabha polls.

28th February 2024
Manipur Commandos surrender arms, protest not being allowed to retaliate attack on ASP Amit Moirangthem

The Police personnel have demanded free hand to retaliate when attacked by armed miscreants

28th February 2024