Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Manipur LS Polls: 3 arrested in firing incident at Manipur polling station

First Published: 20th April, 2024 10:11 IST

The arrested miscreants have been identified as Leichombam Jemson Singh (34 yrs), Nongthombam Ratan (47 yrs) and Khumukcham Angamba (32 yrs).

Three persons have been arrested in connection with a firing incident at a polling station in Manipur during voting on Friday, Manipur Police said.

The firing was reported at Moirangkampu primary school where voters had lined up inorder to exercise their franchise.

The arrested miscreants have been identified as Leichombam Jemson Singh (34 yrs), Nongthombam Ratan (47 yrs) and Khumukcham Angamba (32 yrs).

The police also recovered a 1 (one) .32 pistol with 8 (eight) live ammunitions, 3 (three) mobile phones, a car and .Rs. 1.5 Lakhs in cash.

In a tweet on X, “On 19.04.2024 Manipur Police arrested 3 (three) persons identified as Leichombam Jemson Singh (34 yrs), Nongthombam Ratan (47 yrs) and Khumukcham Angamba (32 yrs) in connection with a firing incident at Moirangkampu primary school in which one person was injured. 32 pistol with 8 (eight) live ammunition, 3 mobile phones, one car and cash worth Rs 1.5 lakh recovered”

In Inner Manipur, BJP had fielded Law and Education minister in the Biren Singh government, Thounaojam Basanta Kr Singh., The Manipur Peoples Party (MPP) has fielded popular actor and social activist-turned politician, R K Somendro who contested as an Independent candidate, while Congress fielded well-known political commentator and professor of JNU’s School of Social Sciences, Agomcha Bimol Akoijam.
The Revolutionary Party of India (Athawale) had fielded party general secretary Maheshwar Thounaojam as its candidate for the Inner Manipur seat. There was also an independent candidate, Hourungbam Sarat Singh in the fray.

In the Outer Manipur seat, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) fielded K Timothy Zimikr, NPF dropped its sitting Lok Sabha MP Lorho S Pfoze and fielded K Timothy Zimik.
BJP did not field a candidate for Outer Manipur and extended support to Zimik.

The Congress fielded former MLA of Ukhrul Alfred K Arthur.

There are two independent candidates – Alyson Abonmei and S Kho John in the battle for Outer Manipur.

It maybe mentioned here that the polling for all the 32 Assembly segments of Inner Manipur and 15 Assembly segments of Outer Manipur was held in the first phase of the Lok Sabha election on April 19, Friday. Voting for the remaining 13 Assembly constituencies of Outer Manipur will be held in the second phase of polling on April 26.



Significant move: Manipur Govt allots 30 acres land to conserve the legendary Manipuri ponies

According to the Manipur government’s livestock census, 129 polo ponies have died in the past 16 years, leaving only 1,089 of the original breeds in the northeast state.

15th May 2024
Manipur HS results 2024 out, 97.63% student pass braving all odds in strife-torn state

The pass percentage in the Science stream is 98.91 percent, while for the Commerce stream, it is 93.51 percent and for the Arts stream it is 94.35 percent.

13th May 2024
FIR filed, action will be initiated against those responsible for alleged assault of 4 Policemen: Manipur CM N Biren Singh

The four police personnel were returning to Kangpokpi from Imphal, when they were overtaken by armed men at Koirengei and frisked away blindfolded.

12th May 2024
Manipur CM sounds caution against illegal influx from Myanmar, terms it as a threat to national security

CM N Biren Singh added that as of May 7th, 5457 illegal immigrants were detected in Kamjong district

12th May 2024
Manipur: 3-day long traditional plantation festival ‘Paoki’ ends in Senapati district

Paoki is a traditional plantation festival among the Poumai tribes which is observed every year for three days during the month of May

11th May 2024