Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Lovlina Borgohain to be awarded year’s best athlete at OIL-ASJA Sports Awards

First Published: 18th February, 2024 18:22 IST

Veteran sports journalist Pabitra Gogoi will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to Sports Journalism.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna awardee, Olympic medallist Lovlina Borgohain will be awarded the best sportsperson of the year at the Assam Sports Journalists’ Association’s flagship annual event, OIL-ASJA Sports Awards 2023, scheduled to be held in the second fortnight of April 2024. The awards ceremony will be held in Guwahati.

Achievers of the year 2023 will be awarded in various categories. A jury, comprising senior sports journalists and sports organizers, was constituted to select the awardees of the year. Considering the achievements of sportspersons from Assam in different arena, the jury has finalised the awardees for the year.

Shuttler Barnil Akash Changmai and weightlifter Bedabrata Bharali will be awarded the joint Best Junior Sportspersons of the Year and the Assam Senior Men’s Cricket Team will be awarded the Best Team of the Year for its outstanding performance in the Syed Mustak Ali Trophy National T20 Cricket Championship 2023.

Veteran sports journalist Pabitra Gogoi will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to Sports Journalism.

Woman cricketer Uma Chetry and woman footballer Apurna Narzary will be awarded Special Achievement Awards along with athlete Mehdi Hassan. Uma Chetry was part of the India team that won the gold in the Hangzhou Asian Games 2023 while Apurna Narzary led the India football team as its captain. Mehdi Hassan has set new records in the national arena apart from winning a bronze in the Asian U20 Athletics Championships 2023 at Yecheon, South Korea.

Chess player Mayank Chakraborty and table tennis player Divija Paul will be honoured with promising sportspersons for their outstanding performances throughout the year.

All awards carry cash prizes along with citations, mementos and others. The OIL-ASJA Sports Awards 2023 will be sponsored by Oil India Ltd and Govt of Assam.

Also Read: Badminton Asia Championships: Assam’s Ashmita stuns fmr World Champion, India reaches finals



LS polls: This big, fat Assam family has nearly 350 voters!

With nearly 350 voters, the family of the late Ron Bahadur Thapa of Phuloguri Nepali Paam in Assam’s Sonitpur district is one of the largest that to exercise their franchise in Assam during the opening phase of polling for the Lok Sabha, on April 19. The district falls within the ambit of the Rangapara assembly […]

15th April 2024
Assam CM Sarma calls BJP manifesto ‘comprehensive list of PM Modi’s guarantees’

While, in its election manifesto - 'Sankalp Patra', BJP has vowed to implement the Union Civil Code (UCC), maintain peace in the Northeast, among other key poll promises.

14th April 2024
Assam: Woman arrested for physically torturing minor housemaid in Dibrugarh

The victim is now with the Dibrugarh Child Line authorities

14th April 2024
Assam: Forest personnel accidentally shoots man while chasing rhino

It may be mentionmed here that the rhino, after straying out of Kaziranga National Park, had attacked a local, injuring him seriously.

13th April 2024
Assam: Fmr AKRSU president Arun Rai and 31 others join UPPL

Many others will also join the party soon, said Arun Rai.

12th April 2024