Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

IPL 2024: SRH skipper Pat Cummins one win away to achieve MS Dhoni’s elusive feat

First Published: 26th May, 2024 12:18 IST

Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the final match of the IPL 2024 at MA Chidambaram Stadium here.

 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) skipper Pat Cummins will get a chance to create history and equal MS Dhoni‘s record of winning both the ODI World Cup and the Indian Premier League (IPL) in a single cricket season as captain.
On Sunday, Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the final match of the IPL 2024 at MA Chidambaram Stadium here.

Dhoni won the ODI World Cup in 2011 and also the IPL title in the same season. On the other hand, Cummins led Australia to win the recently concluded 2023 ODI World Cup and will captain the Hyderabad-based franchise in the IPL 2024 final.

Dhoni won five IPL titles with the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023 seasons. While Cummins won one IPL title in 2014 with the Knight Riders.
KKR finished the league stage on the top of the points table with nine wins, three losses and two no results, giving them 20 points. They earned a direct spot in the final by defeating SRH in the qualifier one. SRH got a second shot at the title in qualifier two against Rajasthan Royals (RR) and they made the most of it by defeating the ‘Men in Pink’ by 36 runs.
Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad: Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (Wk), Abdul Samad, Pat Cummins (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Jaydev Unadkat, Shahbaz Ahmed, Umran Malik, Sanvir Singh, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Markande, Mayank Agarwal, Washington Sundar, Anmolpreet Singh, Upendra Yadav, Jhatavedh Subramanyan, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Marco Jansen, Akash Maharaj Singh.
Kolkata Knight Riders Squad: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Wk), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (C), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy, Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Srikar Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford, Dushmantha Chameera, Chetan Sakariya, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Sakib Hussain, Suyash Sharma, Allah Ghazanfar. (ANI)

Also Read: Spirited Indian Men’s Hockey team loses to Belgium in shoot-out thriller



Indian rifle, pistol team for Paris Olympics announced

The Shotgun team will also be announced soon after the ongoing Lonato International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Cup

12th June 2024
South Africa successfully defend lowest total in T20 World Cup history

During the game, the Proteas managed to defend a target of 114 runs against the Bangladesh Tigers, who fell just four runs short of the target.

11th June 2024
Pakistan fan who sold his tractor to watch match ‘disheartened’ with team’s performance against India

Among these was a heartbroken Pakistan fan who had sold his tractor to get a ticket worth 3,000 USD but could not get to witness his team winning the game.

10th June 2024
“Bumrah’s bowling was special”: Fans in ecstacy following India’s win over Pakistan in T20 WC

Fans found the game worth every second and had been at the stadium since the morning and they did not miss a ball

10th June 2024
“Body language plays a big part…”: Rohit Sharma ahead of Pakistan clash in T20 World Cup

India skipper Rohit Sharma has said that body language plays a big part in a game and the need is to create momentum for the team as India gear up to take on Pakistan on Sunday in their second match of the T20 World Cup at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. The Men in […]

09th June 2024