Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

High voltage campaigning for Nagaland and Meghalaya assembly elections conclude

First Published: 25th February, 2023 18:05 IST

There are 184 candidates in the fray in Nagaland. In Meghalaya there are 375 candidates fighting the Assembly elections this time

The high-voltage campaigning for poll-bound Nagaland and Meghalaya concluded at 4PM. Meanwhile, the parties made their last ditch efforts to woo the voters on the final day of campaigning by harping on diverse issue, among which primarily included development, corruption, employment for youths as well as others.
In Nagaland, the BJP and the NDPP is looking for retaining power. Both the parties, have agreed on a seat sharing formula, wherein the NDPP will be contesting in 40 seats, while the BJP will be contesting in 20 seats.
The Naga People’s Front (NPF) will be contesting in 20 seats. On the other hand, the Congress is contesting in 21 seats.
A total of 13, 09, 651 voters are expected to exercise their franchise to elect representatives of their choice to the 60-member Nagaland Legislative assembly.
On the other hand, hectic politicking for the Meghalaya assembly election also ended on a peaceful note. A high profile battle is on the cards, as the NPP and the BJP is heading for a direct fight. Meanwhile, the TMC led by ex-Chief Minister Mukul Sangma which is making debut in this election, is also looking for proving it’s strength.
Among the top political parties in the state, the BJP is contesting in all the 60 seats, the NPP is contesting in 57 seats, Congress in 60 seats, TMC in 56 seats, UDP in 46 seats.
No poll alliance has been announced so far. A total of 21,61,129 voters will be exercising their franchise in the elections for the 60-seat Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.
A total of 375 candidates are in the fray for the 60 member Meghalaya assembly.
It may be mentioned that the top BJP leadership including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma had launched a mega campaign trail in both the poll-bound states to woo the last voter. Besides, other top leaders from different political parties were also witnessed drumming up support for their respective party candidates.
While pre-poll violence is being reported from Nagaland, Meghalaya has so far been peaceful.
In Nagaland the battle will be for 59 seats as Kazheto Kimini of BJP won the Akuluto seat after 47-year-old Khekashe Sumi of the Congress withdrew his candidature.
In Meghalaya. Election for the Sohiong constituency was cancelled following the death of UDP candidate HDR Lyngdoh.

Also Read : I too look for his social media posts: PM Modi all praise for Nagaland BJP president and social media sensation Temjen Imna Along



Zero tolerance for substandard work: Meghalaya CM’s stern warning to contractors

Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma said this after visiting the Adokgre RMSA Higher Secondary School following complaints of cracks developing in the school building within weeks of completing the construction work

25th May 2024
Meghalaya becoming the next IT and investment hub?

Companies are shifting their focus from Hyderabad and Bengaluru and are looking at investing in Meghalaya, CM Conrad Sangma said.

25th May 2024
Meghalaya: Tribe certificate mandatory in KHADC areas for issuance of SC/ST certificate

This move aims to streamline the verification process and ensure the authenticity of community identities within the KHADC region.

24th May 2024
Meghalaya HSSLC results for Arts out. Pass percentage at 79.76

Menangmankhraw Kharkongor from St. Anthony's Higher Secondary School, Shillong and Gaurav Bharali of St. Edmund's Higher Secondary School, Shillong are the toppers scoring 468 marks respectively out of 500.

24th May 2024
Meghalaya: SSLC Class 10th results declared. Anuj Chetry tops with 575 marks

The second position is secured by Aleytheia Syiemlieh from St. Margaret's Higher Secondary School, Shillong with 574 marks.

24th May 2024