Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

George B Lyngdoh resigns as vice-president of Meghalaya TMC

First Published: 2nd December, 2023 20:20 IST

Lyngdoh thanked all party leaders and members who have been a source of guidance and support in the various endeavors undertaken to serve the people of the state

Former legislator of Umroi, George B Lyngdoh on Saturday resigned as the state vice president and president of Umroi unit of the All India Trinamool Congress due to personal circumstances.

However, Lyngdoh will continue to serve as a member of the TMC.

In his resignation letter submitted to the TMC state president Charles Pyngrope, Lyngdoh said, “I would like to inform your kind honour that I hereby tender my resignation as vice president, TMC Meghalaya as well as President of Umroi, TMC Block Committee, with immediate effect. This decision is driven by personal circumstances.”

“The previous years of association under your esteemed leadership and guidance have been a treasured experience of inestimable worth and value. You and other esteemed leaders have been a patron towards me, and the ones who have always cast a light on how best to turn problems into possibilities, and obstacles into opportunities,” he added.

Lyngdoh thanked all party leaders and members who have been a source of guidance and support in the various endeavours undertaken to serve the people of the state.

“I hope that in the days ahead, we can continue to exchange perspectives, especially those that can benefit our citizens,” Lyngdoh stated.

Lyngdoh was among the 12 Congress MLAs who joined the TMC in 2021, making it the main opposition party in the state overnight. He fought the assembly elections, held earlier this year, on a TMC ticket from Umroi and lost

Also Read: Football coaching centre inaugurated in Ri Bhoi



Lok Sabha elections: BSF Meghalaya ensures peaceful polls

As per estimated voter turnout data, Meghalaya recorded around 74.38 percent turnout. The voting concluded at 6 pm in 102 Lok Sabha constituencies.

20th April 2024
Lok Sabha Polls- Meghalaya: High voter turnout encourages candidates

Till 3 PM, the voting percentage in the Tura Lok Sabha seat was recorded at 63%

19th April 2024
Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray

As many as 35 candidates are in the fray in Assam, 10 each in Manipur and Meghalaya, 14 each in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, 6 in Mizoram 4 in Tripura and 3 in Nagaland.

19th April 2024
Meghalaya LS Polls: 22.26 lakh voters to decide the fate of 9 candidates in the fray for 2 seats

A total of 22.26 (22,26,567) lakh voters including 10.99 lakh male voters, 11.27 lakh female voters, 3 third gender voters to decide the fate of the 9 candidates in the fray for the 2 Lok Sabha seats- Shillong and Tura.

18th April 2024
12 companies of Meghalaya Police to assist in polls in Madhya Pradesh

A total of 40 companies of the Central Armed Paramilitary Forces (CAPF) have been deployed to Meghalaya to assist in the conduct of free and fair Lok Sabha elections in the state tomorrow.

18th April 2024