Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel
Last Updated: 2nd February, 2023 15:38 IST

ECI announces poll dates for Meghalaya Nagaland and Tripura. Check complete schedule here

First Published: 18th January, 2023 15:22 IST

Meghalaya and Nagaland will vote on February 27, Tripura will vote on February 16. Results will be declared on March 2

The Election Commission of India on Wednesday announced the election schedule for the three north-eastern states – Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.
Meghalaya and Nagaland will go to polls on February 27 and Tripura will vote on February 16. Counting of votes will take place on March 2. This was announced by the Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar at a press conference held in New Delhi today.

Single phase polling will take place in all three states.

The term of the Nagaland Assembly will end on March 12, 2023. The state is still talking about solutions for the Naga issue and organisations like the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation have asked its people and other like-minded organisations to stay away from campaigning.

The term of the Tripura Assembly will end on March 22, 2023. The term of the Meghalaya Assembly will end on March 15.

Details of voters in the three states:

62.8 lakh total number of voters in all three states
No of voters in Meghalaya – 21,61,129
No of voters in Nagaland – 13,09,651
No of voters in Tripura – 28,13,784
Total number of new voters added – 2.28 lakh (in all the three states)
The number of 100+ voters are 2,600 in the three states of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.
The number of voters in the three states in the age group of 18-19 years is 1. 6 lakh
There are 13,700 PWD voters in all the three states
9,125 total number of polling stations. This is 634 more than in 2018.
376 all women polling stations
82% of the polling stations are in rural areas
73% webcasting to be done of the polling stations
2,315 polling stations in Nagaland
3,483 polling stations in Meghalaya
3,328 polling stations in Tripura.

Permanent water dispensers, separate toilets for boys and girls, ramps, and electricity to be ensured in all the schools which would be used as polling stations. “This would be a gift from the Election Commission to the schools being used as polling stations. Funds are being sanctioned for this,” the Chief Election Commissioner said.

The entire election process would be completed by March 4, the Commission said.

Also Read : 5 Meghalaya MLAs resign, to join UDP today



Determined to resolve border issue: Meghalaya CM in Assembly

CM Conrad Sangma said that successive governments have always maintained the status quo on the inter-state boundary issues

21st February 2024
Meghalaya Assembly rejects private bill to strengthen Lokayukta Act 2021

Assembly Speaker Thomas Sangma put the Bill to voice-vote, the house rejected it.

20th February 2024
Meghalaya CM reassures to work for inclusion of Khasi, Garo languages in 8th Schedule

Conrad Sangma said that talks focusing on the issue always tops the agenda whenever he finds an opportunity to meet Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

19th February 2024
Meghalaya: Big setback for Congress, 2 sitting and 1 ex-MDC jump ship to NPP

Meghalaya CM and NPP chief Conrad Sangma welcomed the leaders to the NPP in a mega joining event.

19th February 2024
Lok Sabha polls: I.N.D.I.A bloc sets eyes on Meghalaya, former CM Mukul Sangma drops a hint

According to Mukul Sangma, discussions are happening within the I.N.D.I.A. bloc with the intent of having single candidate as far as some of the seats in some of the states are concerned

19th February 2024