Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal Polls 2024: CEO P.K. Sain highlights preparations for counting day

First Published: 16th May, 2024 16:19 IST

The counting of votes for Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections will commence on June 2 at 6 AM, while for the parliamentary elections, it will begin on June 4 at 8

The counting of votes for Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections will commence on June 2 at 6 am, while for the Arunachal parliamentary elections, it will begin on June 4 at 8 am, this was informed by Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain.

The preparations for the counting of votes in Arunachal Pradesh are going on in full swing across the state.

Addressing the media CEO Pawan Kumar Sain said that inorder to ensure smooth proceedings and maintain law and order during the counting phase, a comprehensive review meeting was held yesterday which was attended by all District Electoral Officers (DEOs) and Superintendents of Police (SP)s.

He said that all the SPs were directed to maintain law and oerder in the counting centers, while all the DEOs have been directed about all the preparations required inside the counting centers.

CEO Sain also said that the authorities are working on all possible initiatives required to send the accurate report on time to the media and election commission.

Except for districts with logistical issues, all constituencies’ votes will be counted together for the assembly elections under a new vote counting process by the authorities. Previously, the counting was done one after another. This action has been taken to ensure that the results may be declared on time and without any delays, as informed by Arunachal CEO.

The CEO also stated that they have taken the initiative to establish media centers in each counting station and connect the counting stations via internet so that the results can be announced on time in a phased manner.

The counting centers will be set up in every district headquarters. Out of the 25 designated counting centers across the state, Anjaw remains uncontested and thus excluded from the assembly election counting processon on June 2 but the counting will be held for the Lok Sabha polls on June 4 along with the rest of the country.

CEO Sain also informed that the counting officials of the political parties are requested to refrain from using any inappropriate means throughout the counting processand also maintain transparency in the process. The counting officials are also asked to enter the counting room without theirv mobile phones except for those who have been directed by the election commission to carry their mobile phone.
Moreover, the CEO has urged the people of the state to support the authorities in completion of a free and fare counting process just like the voting process.

He has lauded the active participation of the people of the state in the election process and also lauded the election officials for their hardwork and ddedication and how they braved treacherous terrains to reach polling stations.

Polling for the 50 assembly seats and 2 Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh was held on April 19.
The ruling BJP has won 10 seats unopposed to the 60-member Arunachal Assembly.



Nature’s fury in Sikkim: Govt steps up measures to prevent outbreak of water borne diseases

"My specific plan is that we will go all out and see that proper health care and facilities are provided to all," Sikkim Health Minister GT Dhungel added.

20th June 2024
Arunachal: 5 NPP MLAs back Pema govt, takes strength to 59 in 60-member Assembly

Khandu government already received support of 3 independent MLAs, 2 PPA MLAs and 3 MLAs of the NCP (Ajit Pawar) faction.

20th June 2024
Strength of Pema Khandu-led BJP Govt in Arunachal increases to 54, after 3 MLAs of NCP (Ajit Pawar) extend support

The NCP (Ajit Pawar) MLAs who extended their support to BJP are -Nikh Kamin, Likha Soni, and Toko Tatung.

19th June 2024
Congress MLA Kumar Waii left as lone opposition in 60-member strong Arunachal Assembly

Kumar Waii won from the Bameng Assembly constituency defeating BJP candidate Doba Lamino with a margin of 635 votes.

18th June 2024
Arunachal Governor Lt Gen (R) KT Parnaik appoints 19 MLAs as Advisors to Ministers

The advisors will assist the Ministers and the Government in proper functioning of the government and monitoring ongoing projects.

18th June 2024