Northeast India’s Only English and Hindi Satellite News Channel

Arunachal gears up for result day on June 2 and June 4

First Published: 29th May, 2024 21:48 IST

CEO stated that the DEOs have been instructed to ensure that counting agents of various political parties enter the counting centres without cell phones

Elaborate arrangements have been made in Arunachal Pradesh for the counting of votes on June 2nd for the Assembly Polls and June 4 for Lok Sabha Polls.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Pawan Kumar Sain on Wednesday informed that the preparations are near complete for the counting process set to take place on June 2nd and June 4th, when votes for the Lok sabha polls will be counted.

Assembly and Lok Sabha elections were held simultaneously in Arunachal Pradesh on April 19
Emphasizing the importance of swift and peaceful counting process, Kumar announced strict measures to ensure efficiency.

Counting of votes for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections will begin at 6 am on June 2 while that for Lok Sabha polls would start from 8 am on June 4, Sain said.

On June 2, efforts will be focused on expediting the vote counting process. To facilitate counting across the state, a central headquarters set up at least 48 counting halls and 630 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). A total of 469 counting tables will be operationalized for the overall process.

“This time we have decided to conduct counting for all constituencies in a district simultaneously and will try to announce the results by noon,” Sain said, adding that media centres would be set up in all counting centres to disseminate information on counting updates.

CEO said, “I had already convened a coordination meeting with all the district electoral officers (DEOs) and superintendents of police (SPs) to review the law and order situation along with chief secretary and director general of police, where the DGP directed all SPs to ensure peaceful counting process,” Sain said.

He also added that the DEOs have been instructed to ensure that counting agents of various political parties enter the counting centres without cell phones.



Nature’s fury in Sikkim: Govt steps up measures to prevent outbreak of water borne diseases

"My specific plan is that we will go all out and see that proper health care and facilities are provided to all," Sikkim Health Minister GT Dhungel added.

20th June 2024
Arunachal: 5 NPP MLAs back Pema govt, takes strength to 59 in 60-member Assembly

Khandu government already received support of 3 independent MLAs, 2 PPA MLAs and 3 MLAs of the NCP (Ajit Pawar) faction.

20th June 2024
Strength of Pema Khandu-led BJP Govt in Arunachal increases to 54, after 3 MLAs of NCP (Ajit Pawar) extend support

The NCP (Ajit Pawar) MLAs who extended their support to BJP are -Nikh Kamin, Likha Soni, and Toko Tatung.

19th June 2024
Congress MLA Kumar Waii left as lone opposition in 60-member strong Arunachal Assembly

Kumar Waii won from the Bameng Assembly constituency defeating BJP candidate Doba Lamino with a margin of 635 votes.

18th June 2024
Arunachal Governor Lt Gen (R) KT Parnaik appoints 19 MLAs as Advisors to Ministers

The advisors will assist the Ministers and the Government in proper functioning of the government and monitoring ongoing projects.

18th June 2024